We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay over with family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“one night stay over with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

can say want i want to say about this hotel in about 10 words, Lovely, welcoming, friendly, relaxing, clean, spacious, rooms fab, food fab, location fab, return deffinate. Well done radisson blu you really do look after your guests from start to finish, Athmosphere very friendly and relaxing and got a brill deal, will be on the look out for the next one so pleeeeeeeeeeeeese do will retrun as soon as we can and that is a group of eight of us thanks

Room Tip: ask for a river view gorgeous and a business room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Jenny,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. We are delighted to get such an outstanding review. We pride ourselves on having everything you need for your stay, from a relaxing drink in the Quayside Bar and Lounge to a wonderful meal in Elements restaurant. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in the hotel and that you loved your room. We are very customer focused and strive to ensure that all our guests are looked after as soon as they arrive. We do hope you get the opportunity to return to us soon and enjoy some of the wonderful attractions that Athlone has to offer.


Kind regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    237
    143
    61
    46
See reviews for
130
308
28
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed here in December for my christmas party and really enjoyed it , its a lovely cosy hotel and very chilled . The food was gorgeous breakfast was so tasty and hot and the staff were really friendly , I would definitely stay again in the Summer !

Room Tip: We stayed in business class so had a beautiful view of the river makes waking up in the morning very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Jenny,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. I am delighted to hear that you were impressed with the hotel. We make every effort to ensure our guests have an enjoyable time during their stay. We appreciate your comments regarding our Super Buffet Breakfast and I will be sure to pass your kind words on to our staff.

We look forward to your visit during Summer.

Kind regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very poor event management. I booked 3 rooms for an event to be open as one for 3 Saturdays, contract signed, confirmation sent, etc. Without my knowledge they opened only 2 rooms together and the third room was offered to a new client. Both events clashed and caused a lot of drama. After speaking with the hotel Staff (Tanya and Aisling) you realised that you as a client mean nothing to the Hotel and they made the decision themselves to go behind your back hoping for an extra revenue. Very poor business, no Customer Service, no apology. After the phone conversation you were left in disbelief about how the Staff can treat a business client such poorly and with no respect. We placed our booking for the whole year but I am now cancelling everything due to the above.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossgar
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Just home having enjoyed a 2 night stay at this hotel. Staff at reception were very efficient and we found all the staff to be friendly. The room was fantastic and overlooked the river Shannon.
We ate in the restaurant both evenings and food was outstanding. Breakfast was rather busy but staff were on hand rto keep all running steady. Plenty of food to choose from and I loved the pancake maker!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Catherine,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you were delighted with your room. Our river view rooms are very popular with our guests. We are very fortunate to have such wonderful views of the River Shannon from the hotel. Customer service is very important to us and it is great to know that you found our staff to be very efficient and friendly. I will pass on your kind words to all staff. The pancake maker is a new addition to our Super Buffet Breakfast and is proving to be a hit with our guests.

We look forward to you visiting us again.

Kind regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We celebrated the annual anniversary of our engagement at this wonderful hotel. Everything from the minute we checked in was just fantastic, our suite looking over the river as requested always brings back wonderful memories of my husband proposing to me there, our dinner in the restaurant was amazing as was breakfast and last but not least the staff were welcoming & helpful as always. Looking forward to next year ! Thank you Radisson Blu Athlone !

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Maryjam,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone.
Congratulations on the anniversary of your engagement - we love to hear about proposals that take place in the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our fabulous river view suites and that it brought back some wonderful memories for you both. I am delighted that the food in our Elements Bistro exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all staff and to the chef regarding the food.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel next year.

Kind regards,

Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Radisson the 10th & 11th Jan. I booked a standard double room. The check in process was very efficient.

Now to the room…. The toilet was absolutely filthy. We requested to be moved to a different room. The second room seemed ok. The pressure in the shower was terrible and the wooden panel on the side of the bath was rotten. We’d get over these issues. However, when my husband picked up his towel after his shower, he found it was dirty. This was NOT acceptable. He spoke to the Manager who was very apologetic and we were moved to a suite with €25 to be taken off our bill. The suite was lovely – even if the duvet cover was ripped - but all we’re interested in is a clean room. If I wanted a suite, I’d have booked one!

Breakfast was fine, nothing special. We were told to take a seat anywhere and had to find a waitress to order our tea and coffee. Usually, we find that the order is taken when you’re shown to your table. They seemed to be very short staffed, because the manager was clearing tables. We didn’t eat in the hotel bar or restaurant – we had planned to on the Friday night, but decided to give it a miss after the saga with the rooms.

The following day, we came back to the hotel to find our room keys wouldn’t work. Not so much as an apology from the receptionist. On check out, our bill was wrong and we had to speak to the manager again to get it sorted out. The receptionist on duty at the time, I think her name was Kasia, was very polite.

Overall, we were very disappointed with the Radisson. While the manager looked after us and dealt efficiently with our complaints, this hotel is definitely not up to standard. The manager described it himself as “Fawlty Towers”. The Leisure Centre could also do with a bit of work – for example, the lock on one of the shower cubicles didn’t work. We’re not overly fussy and have never had reason to complain in a hotel before, but filthy toilets and dirty towels are an exception.

Athlone is a lovely town for a weekend away, and I would visit again in a heartbeat. I’ll probably book the Sheraton next time. My advice: stay well away from the Radisson.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear IrishGal010,

I appreciate you taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. I am extremely disappointed to hear of the issues you experienced during your stay in the hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise and I would be happy to talk to you in depth about your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed in this Hotel on Saturday 11th January for one night only and to be honest it was one night too many,
The room was nice but the staff were so unfriendly on arrival to reception and the "Bar Manager" was rude unhelpful and let his place of employment down

Room Tip: room 113 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear John,

I appreciate you taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. I am disappointed to hear that you were unimpressed with our staff. We regularly receive positive feedback regarding our staff and it is unfortunate that you did not experience this during your stay. I am sorry to hear that you found the Bar Manager unhelpful; I will look into this immediately.

I do hope should you choose to stay with us again that you will have a more enjoyable experience.

Kind regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.