We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is in a great location on the River Shannon and steps from restaurants and pubs in town. There is free parking and wifi throughout the hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with lovely toiletries. There is a pool large enough for lap swimming and numerous exercise machines. The breakfast buffet had lots of options. The lobby bar serves lovely food and it was really nice to have drinks on the large patio overlooking the Shannon. The staff were all very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river. Our room was non-smoking but there is a large patio downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Tourist Rose,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay here at the Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone. We take great pride in providing a spacious and comfortable environment for all our guests and so we are very pleased with your comments. Quality leisure facilities and our location overlooking the beautiful River Shannon are an important part of the experience we offer to guests here at the Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone and so we are happy to know you were impressed. It is always great to hear such good comments about the friendliness of our staff as we strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. We would be delighted to welcome you here again at the Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    237
    142
    61
    46
See reviews for
130
308
28
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed two nights in the Radisson. Very modern hotel in the centre of Athlone beside the river Shannon. We stayed in a suite overlooking the river. It was large, nicely furnished and comfortable. Staff in the hotel were all very friendly and helpful. Sarah on reception deserves a special mention - she was lovely. Ate lunch there which was very good and not expensive. Also, had the bbq which is served on the decking area overlooking the river. It was excellent and extremely good value. I could not fault this hotel on any count and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear jjwals,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in the Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone. Our location overlooking the River Shannon is one of our best attributes and provides a beautiful backdrop to our suites, we are therefore thrilled to hear your comments. Friendly and helpful staff is of utmost importance to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay and so we are very pleased to hear you were impressed and will be sure to pass on a special thank you to Sarah on reception. We hope that you will return to us in future for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my family on top floor in familyroom. Lovely room with a great view but the room was far too warm an we found it very hard to sleep. Even the corridors and lift were warm. This hotel should have air conditioning. We would not stay there again in the summer unless this problem was rectified.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Anne f,

Many thanks for taking time to express your findings on our hotel. I regret to hear about the problems in your room. Considering of the warm weather recently, I understand that some rooms, especially on the top floor are really warm. We are working hard currently with the housekeeping team and maintenance team at the hotel, in order to sort out these issues as soon as possible. I already passed on your comments to all the staff at the hotel. We hope to have you here with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Recently stayed here for one night on the way to the west. Lovely modern/well maintained hotel in a great location in the centre of town and on the river. The price was also the best of the hotels in the town. Lovely outside area (a really hot evening) and while we did not have the bbq being served, we had food from the bar menu, which was very tasty.

However the highlight of this hotel was the staff. They were pleasant, courteous and very helpful. Nothing was too much and this applied to the waiting staff/reception/bar - they were among the most pleasant staff I have had the pleasure to deal with in a long time. This is ultimately what makes the difference when staying in hotels.

Well done to all of you!!

Room Tip: We had a room facing west and because it was such a hot day - the room were warm so I would recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Julie L,

Firstly I want to thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am thrilled that you had the opportunity to experience the good weather with us on our fabulous terrace as it makes a break away with us that much more enjoyable. It is always great to hear such kind comments regarding our staff as we strive to do the best possible for our guests and customer service is of utmost importance to us here at Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone. I will be passing your kind comments on to the entire team here and I know they will be delighted to hear such nice words, I hope you will return to us again soon and I look forward to welcoming you back to us when you do!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here as the second part of our honeymoon, the hotel is really well positioned for the local amenities. We were lucky to visit during an unusual warm spell and on our night we chose to stay at the hotel for a meal as an easy option! We were tempted by the BBQ on the lovely large decking area and the food was superb and fantastic value 10 € for a burger BBQ with unlimited salads etc. the choice was great and all kept fresh despite the soaring temperatures. We enjoyed ourselves that much we returned the next evening for the BBQ again! The chef jessy was a great character and really added to the feel of the place.

The rooms were a good size, we stayed in the business class room and it was well equipped and had amazing views of the river Shannon and local church. Only grumble with the room was no air conditioning made for an uncomfortable night in the unusually high temperatures!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Leah R,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to express your findings as it is only when we receive feedback such as yours that we can improve our service.
We are glad to have you here with us as a part of your honeymoon. It is always great to hear kind comments regarding of our food as we pride ourselves in sourcing all our food produce locally to ensure a high quality and standard. I appreciate that we have provided you an enjoyable experience during your stay. I will share your reviews with the chef Jessy, as well as all the staff at the hotel, as I am sure they would be thrilled with that. We hope to welcome you back soon in the near future!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights last week, when it was very hot. The room was average but the bed was big and comfy. It was sweltering hot and the outside deck overlooking the river was a lovely place to sit and have a drink.
Our only complaint was our room overlooked the front entrance, and there seemed to be people coming in and out all night long, shouting and laughing, sitting on the steps having a cigarette etc. at 4.30am we had had enough and rang down to reception to complain. It stopped for a while, only for us to be woken up again by the fire alarm going off as someone was smoking in their bedroom. We had a repeat sleepless night the next night. The swimming pool was a nice place to cool off in. Make sure you wear a swimming hat, or buy one for 2 euros at the desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the car park and front entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear hedge81,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. It is only with comments like yours that we can continue to improve our service for our guests.
We regret to hear your comments regarding the noise. We have taken your comments on board and are trying our best to enhance our guests’ stay with us. Our night manager was aware of the noise group and tried to hush the noise. I apologize that this kept you awake much after our effort to try to quieten them. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the terrace as we are very lucky to be in our magnificent location alongside the Shannon. I will share your comments to all the team at the hotel, as well as the staff in the gym and swimming pool. I hope that you will consider returning to us in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here recently as part of a very large group. Staff were very friendly. We cycled from Dublin and they opened up a room for us to leave our bikes which was very helpful. Outside decking area has a great view over the shannon. Rooms are a little dated would have expected a higher standard for a Radisson hotel - the night we stayed was unusualy hot - our room was way too hot, their was no air con and they didn't have a fan they could give us. However this was very unusual weather for Athlone! Breakfast was fine. This hotel was perfect for our large group and the staff were very friendly however I would rate it as a 3 star rather than a 4.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Ohohitsik,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. It was a joy to have you here with us. And I am delighted that we made it an enjoyable and memorable stay for you and everyone in our group. Our location is one of our best attributes. It is lovely to hear that you were impressed with it. I will pass on your reviews to all the staff at the hotel, as I know they would be thrilled with your kind comments.
I regret to hear your problems with the room standard. Due to the warm weather recently, we understand that some of our rooms especially on higher floors were of an uncomfortable temperature, and we endeavoured to supply fans to as many rooms as possible. We hope to see you again and welcome you back to us!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.