We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Bash” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Milton, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Birthday Bash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had a family party here in Jan 2012. It was a wonderful weekend. The staff throughout the hotel were welcoming, friendly and very very accommodating. We had dinner in the Egan room which is just off the main dining room but private enough for a small get together. The food and service was excellent. For breakfast there was a choice to suit everyone's taste and even special requests. We had family rooms, twin rooms and double rooms. The accommodation was more than adequate for families and everything was clean and fresh. We were especially impressed by the value for money. There is a lovely view from the hotel but we didn't make the terrace because of the rain. It is easy walking distance to the town center and lots of shopping choices. Car parking is available. We would love to return and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    236
    142
    61
    46
See reviews for
130
308
28
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingscourt, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My husband and I go to the Raddison Athlone regularly. I went 5 years ago for my hen night and loved the hotel that much we now go back yearly. Recently stayed in the hotel and from the minute we walked through the door from being made very welcomed at reception right until we left. Staff very nice. Both staff in bar and house staff were lovely. Location is great too. Lovely to sit in the bar on a saturday afternoon and watch the boats/water. We also stayed in the Lough Sheelan Suite and the comfort/space in this room was great. Overall a great stay and yes we will be back again and again!! Athlone as a town is lovely. Alot of shops near and you can just park car at Hotel and not move all weekend - which is handy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina D, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to read your review of the Radisson Blu and of the fantastic time you had here with us in Athlone.
I will be forwarding on your comments to all the team at the hotel who will be glad see that we both met and exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and I will look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone again

Many Thanks
Martina Donoghue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed here on Jan 30th and 31st. We got free upgrade to Junior Suite. The room was lovely, with beautiful views of the Shannon from both windows. Room while really big was cosy, warm and spotless. Nice soft Bathrobes and slippers and all the extra little toiletries. Morning paper left outside our door each morning. Staff were lovely and more than helpful. We had food in bar which was really nice and breakfast was full Irish and wide choice of cereal, fruit, fresh bread etc. We were walking distance to town if we fancied a change. I would highly recommend this hotel and we will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina D, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Audrey,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu hotel on TripAdvisor, it was a pleasure to read your review and of the lovely time you had here in Athlone. We pride ourselves here at the Radisson Blu on providing the best service to all our guests so as to ensure they have that special experience here with us. The views from the Junior and Business rooms are often commented on and provide a lovely backdrop to the hotel most certainly !

I will look forward to seeing you back in Athlone again in the very near future

Many Thanks
Martina Donoghue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in August. The hotel is in a great location overlooking the river and cruisers passing by. The terrace is lovely for enjoying a drink and admiring the views. The room was a business class room with a very comfortable bed and nice bathroom. What let this hotel down with a bang was the Breakfast. There was a great selections but the quality of the produce was terrible. Juices were cheap and watery, and the cooked full Irish was tasteless. The "fresh" fruit salad was soggy and seemed to have been stored and put back out morning after morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina D, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel on TripAdvisor, I am sorry to hear you mention the poor quality of the breakfast served during your stay with us here, I have forwarded your comments to our Operations Manager and Head Chef who will address this concerning issue as per your feedback, the Radisson breakfast has always been a key noted quality of the Radisson Blu standards so I can assure you this has been noted as high priority.

I do however hope this will not deter you from returing to the Radisson Blu in the future as I see you note the many other positive aspects to your stay. The terrace is a beautiful setting especially in the summer months providing a wonderful view of the Marina.

Once again thank you for taking the time and reviewing the Hotel and I do hope we will see you in the very near future

Many Thanks
Martina Donoghue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We organised a family birthday celebration at the Radisson. Mixture of seniors/adults/children. The hotel recommended booking the Egan room for dinner slightly off the restaurant but not isolated from it which was perfect for our group.
The staff were very obliging with regards to any request made for projectors/screens/lighting/dietery requirements.. all taken care of with smiles, although they were very busy that weekend. The meal was good. The rates were excellent and the rooms were spotless and very quiet with little or no stray noises coming from the corridors. Family rooms were spacious and the kids loved the pool. Would not hesitate rebooking here..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina D, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Radisson Blu Hotel online. I am delighted to see that you really enjoyed your stay with us here in Athlone. The staff of the hotel are one of the best assets to the business and often noted for their dedication and professional, friendly service to our patrons.
Our family rooms are indeed large spacious and designed with the needs of the family market in mind.
I hope we will see you again in the very near future here at the Radisson Blu in Athlone
Many Thanks
Martina Donoghue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanagarry
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Having arrived straight from Shannon Airport, to the Radisson, we were a little early for check in and yet they accommodated us with smiling faces and told us that breakfast was still being served. Our room overlooked the river which was lovely and the hotel itself is clean and spacious. Though we stayed just one night before our true journey began, it was a very good beginning. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Welcome to Ireland!

Room Tip: It is a good value for the money and worth the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina D, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel online, I am delighted to see that the reception on arrival for you here at the hotel was a positive and very welcoming experience and I will forward on your comments to the relevant departments.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and will look forward to seeing you again

Many Thanks
Martina Donoghue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This was our third stay in this hotel, the previous two times were fine, we as a couple both enjoyed the comfort and surrounding areas of Athlone, always leaving refreshed and relaxed after our stay. This time however things have changed for the worse..

We paid for a business class suite overlooking the river, the room was comfortable but looking a bit dated, few stains on carpets, few wet patches in bathrooms but was happy enough.

We were both looking forward to a swim, and a sauna when we got there after the drive. Arrived down to the pool area to find sauna was out of order, the pool was very dirty and the floors of the changing rooms were disgusting, we left after 10 minutes.

When we got back to room, I decided to have a bath, the switch for the shower head and tap was broken so you have to fill the bath using half the tap, half the shower head! Thought I'd let it slide..

Booked a table for a meal in the hotel as we dined there previously and were happy with the food in the past. Meal was bland to say the least, service was terrible (having to ask more than twice for things is unacceptable in these times), asked for a medium cooked steak, got a well done one instead. Mentioned this to the manager there whom apologized. Thought 70euro for two was very steep considering what we got, the only good thing about the meal was the dessert.

Went out to reception to get a taxi into town (it was freezing that night), the lady at the desk called one for us. After twenty minutes and no sign of the taxi I went back up to the desk to discover no sign of the lady who called for us, the man on duty made a joke about it... we walked into town as I was getting angry at this stage.

Arrived back to hotel room after a few drinks to a horrible smell in the room. As we searched around the room we discovered the carpet beside the bed was soaking wet making the smell of the wet carpet rise. I can only guess this was a leak somewhere the bathroom. I threw some towels over it but the smell was so bad we both didn't sleep well at all.

On checkout the next morning (we missed breakfast as we were both so tired from no sleep!), I complained about the water issue, I was passed onto the manager whom offered me 25euro back from the room rate.

I just want to warm people that are spending their hard earned money like us to avoid this 2 star hotel in my opinion. This experience has diminished my faith in holidaying in Ireland again for the near future and the Radisson as a chain.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina D, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for reviewing the Radisson Blu hotel online and providing the management team here with such informative feedback with regards your previous stay here with us. I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time here and it was clear many different issues occured throughout your stay.
As you can see from the other reviews here on TripAdvisor this is most certainly not the standard of the Radisson Blu brand.

I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you in more detail, as I acknowledge you are a previous customer of the hotel and had both positive experiences here at the Radisson Blu before.

Please feel free to contact me here at the hotel at any stage at all or indeed any of the management team

Many Thanks
Martina Donoghue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.