We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corner House Bistro

Corner House Bistro
Dublingate Street, Athlone, Ireland
+353 90 647 0077
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 81 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Daytime fine dining with traditional table service.Reservations available.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Its one of the best in town for lunch reasonable prices and the lamb shank is top class . The fish and chips is also very good and more than a fair portion. The pork belly comes eith a very nice celeriac puree. Its ideal for a business lunch

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    23
    3
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Omagh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I had lunch here today with a friend and was very impressed with both the food and service which was prompt and polite. We'll definitely be back and recommend to others

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“THE best place to eat in Athlone - cosy atmosphere, friendly staff and excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've eaten at this restaurant on several occassions since it opened up last year, and have to say each time it has been a real treat. We've tried both the daytime and evening menu, both of which have an excellent variety of tasty treats to suit all tastebuds. My favourite being the home-made duck spring rolls or the black pudding / bacon salady with deep fried hens egg on top (one of their signature dishes) and of course you always have to order a side of their chunky house fries. Desserts are to die for, the chocolate brownie raspberry cheesecake being my favourite. The staff are all very friendly, the manager Breege is an asset to the restaurant and the owners Linda and Joe are a fantastic team and have a warm welcome for everyone. Cannot rate this place highly enough, if you wish to dine in the evening they even have a BYO policy and corkage is FREE! Ideal for families, ladies who lunch, business lunches, romantic meals, birthdays etc or just a quiet coffee and a read of the paper (as they have two comfie couches in the middle of the restaurant too). Its hard to beat the Corner House!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice decor, poor service and poor food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Having read the reviews I was looking forward to eating here but it was a disappointment. The restaurant opens for dinner at 6pm and we arrived without a booking at 6:05. There were two other diners already seated but other than that the place was (understandably) empty.

We were warmly greeted by a waitress who showed us to a table about 18 inches from the other people. Why? The place was empty and by the time we left only two other diners had arrived so it's not like they were expecting a huge influx of bookings or anything!!

Our waitress was friendly and communicative but was chewing gum and not switched on. When my dining partner asked for a pot of tea to be brought after her food the waitress confirmed the request and promptly arrived with the pot of tea before any food had been served. Not a big deal but silly.

I had the mussels in a coconut broth with chillies, lemongrass and garlic and they were seriously delicious. Top marks to the chef for these. I have spent a good bit of time in France and love my mussels so it's good to get them this good and in an innovative manner.

My dining partner ordered a prawn and crayfish potato cake "mille-feuille" and it was horrible. First of all it wasn't anything like a potato cake. It was a pile of (what looked like) sautéed potatoes with some seafood (mostly small frozen prawns) sprinkled on top with some mary rose type sauce (seriously pink) poured over the top. Given the "mille-feuille" description I expected a layered fishcake of some recognisable sort but what was presented looked like someone had eaten a fluorescent pink fish cake puked on the plate. It was a tasteless pile of gunk which was left behind.

I had the Striploin steak with crispy onions and a beamaise sauce. The steak was cooked to order and the sauce, onions and chunky chips were good but the steak itself wasn't very good quality (it was dry and quite tough) and I had to trim a huge amount of fat off the edge, I'd say it was almost 20% of the overall size of the steak. Most of it should have been trimmed off before cooking.

We didn't bother with deserts or coffee.

I hope my experience here was an anomaly as Athlone needs a better selection of eateries and this has the potential to be a real success. It is in an interesting location, is very well decked out and has a nice atmosphere but some quality control when selecting steaks, less gum chewing and more attention to detail when serving and a review of how the prawn and crayfish potato cake is constructed wouldn't go astray.

I'll give it another go next time I'm in Athlone and will update this review then, hopefully in a positive manner!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Visited this restaurant recently for a very tasty meal.
Brought our own wine as it doesn't have a licence to sell alcohol.
Food was good if a little overpriced - starters were around €7 / 8.
There were about 6 or 7 choices of main course with one fish dish. I had sea bass on a bed of celeriac which was lovely but again a little overpriced. The other person had a steak which was very well cooked but the cut of meat was a little thin.
Service was good with the waitress extra friendly. We ate there on a Thursday night and it was very quiet but I''m sure it gets busier at the weekends.
Would recommend but they could do with looking at prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner House Bistro also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Corner House Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corner House Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.