We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Locke Restaurant

The Locke Restaurant
The Docks | St Peters Port, Athlone 0000, Ireland
+353 90 649 4517
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 76 Restaurants in Athlone
Price range: $18 - $43
Cuisines: Dessert, Irish, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Locke Restaurant, Athlone is located in Athlone's historical quater and is set in an enchanting 150 year old church which stands proudly on the waterfront. The church was the original Anglican church in Athlone and dates back to the early 1800's. The church still retains most of its original fetures which now form part of the gorgeous restaurant that is The Locke. The Locke is situated beside the beer garden entrance to Sean's Bar, Ireland's Oldest Pub, Athlone Castle and is in the heart of the bustling nightlife of Athlone. The restaurant is one block away from the Dean Crowe theatre. It also also is within walking distance of some of Athlone's wonderful attractions, such as the Viking Boat Cruise and the Luain Gallery. The core of the restaurant, set in the captivating and magnificent church which dates back to 1858, now known as the Locke Restaurant is the second level with its high church beamed ceilings, warm, atmospheric lighting, panelling and rich carpet. The cosy snug bar located on the lower level has a dramatic feel about it. There is live piano and harp sessions every Saturday night in the bar area of the restaurant and all are welcome to come and enjoy it, even for a drink. The Locke Restaurant is a proud Irish Restaurant, specialising in fine Irish cuisine and seafood with a strong focus on local suppliers and produce. Our award winning Head Chef, Seamus Jordan and his excellent team cook everything fresh to order and take great pride in the quality and standard of food they produce.The Locke Restaurant is open from Tuesday to Sunday served full evening, Al a Carte Menu from 5pm to 9.30Pm and There is also a great value Early Bird Menu available each day from 5pm to 7pm with 2 courses starting from €21.00 Per person. The Locke also has capacity for groups and parties with our private dining room options available for small or large groups and parties. We also have Group Menus and tailored packages for groups.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This restaurant is just fantastic , the staff wonderful and food even better.. excellent value and will be returning very soon. Highly recommend the steak cooked to perfection.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Sarah l,

WOW, what a headline, how do I responsed to that, you have us all beaming here from ear to ear! We take so much pride in what we do here at The Locke and it means so much when we get it right! I am delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us so much.

And as you are planning on returning soon, we look forward to welcoming you back again.

A huge thank you,

Ann O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    43
    11
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Would recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Would highly recommend this restaurant the food was great my steak was cooked to perfection,my partner really enjoyed the duck ,service was great the wonderful lady serving us was friendly with a real mammy feel to her although it was quiet it had a great atmosphere. Will definitely return

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Damian M, thank you!

Seamus Jordan, our excellent Head Chef is delighted that you enjoyed your steak so much. It takes great pride in what he does and is always chuffed with good feedback. It was myself who served you so as the mammy of the restaurant, its always nice to know that people feel well minded here at The Locke.

We are delighetd with your feedback and hope we can have you dine with us again soon.
Wamest thanks,

Ann "Mammy" O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Supply and demand ??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Went to the lock this weekend , booked it at short notice based on trip advisor reviews. Told to come down at 915pm. When we arrived we had to wait half an hour , which we didn't mind but just before we were seated the manager advised us that the menu was very limited, basically 2 starters left and 3 mains( 2 fish and 1 vegetarian) At this stage it was 10 pm so leaving to find another restaurant wasn't really an option. We ordered and while the food was ok, it wasn't what we would have ordered and to be honest was all a bit disappointing. They did discount us a little but in hindsight they should just have told us they were fully booked when we rang so we could have gone somewhere else.
We probably will return but will books earlier and for an earlier time .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Roziemurta,

From the outset, I am so sorry that you didnt get the experience you were hoping for from us here at the Locke. We make no excuses, we understand and we accept that we let you down.

As a fresh food restaurant, we pride oursleves on using fresh local produce everyday and therefore we only ever buy in a certain amount of everything as we have a policy of not frezzing food and we hate waste. However, on the saturday you dined with us, we never expected to be as busy as we were and simply, we didnt buy in enough food and for that we put our hands up. I can assure you, we wont let it happen again.

I see that you have said that you will return and we all very much hope you do. One because we can say sorry in person and two to show you what the Locke Restaurant is really like.

Thank you for your feedback.
Wamr regards,

Ann O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Was here for my hens on Saturday 1st feb
We all enjoy the food
Gavin the host was great would recommend and hope to go back sometime

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Keary34,

Thank you ever so much for the lovely review, it was our pleasure hosting you and the girls. Im delighetd that you enjoyed your night with us so much, it what we pride ourselves on and Gavin is very complimented by your priase.

I very much hope you will all come and visit us again.

Regards,

Ann "Mammy" O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great evening at theLocke.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We came across this restaurant by chance on our weekend break in Athlone. We booked in for an early sitting on Sunday evening. From the moment you walk in the door you will be impressed by the décor, but it also has a warm and cosy feel. We had the early bird two course menu which gave us a big choice of delicious fresh, homemade dishes. We enjoyed every morsel from start to finish! We were served by two lovely ladies sorry to say I didn't get their names but they were so helpful and friendly. We were seated down stairs and after our meal they showed us around the fabulous upstairs of the converted church. We had a lovely evening with fantastic food in beautiful surroundings and we really hope to visit again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Laurap_10

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we are all blown away here by such positive feedback, it means alot to us. It was Joanne and myself that served you and im delighted that you were impressed with us.

The cosy, warm, welcoming feeling is what we aim for here at The Locke. We like you to feel relaxed, appriciated and content. Seamus Jordan, our wonderful head chef and his team are delighted you were impressed with the food.

I very much hope that the next time you are down from Dublin, you will call again.

Kind regards,

Ann O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Locke Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to The Locke Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Locke Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.