We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Menu, Food, Service and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Locke Restaurant

The Locke Restaurant
The Docks | St Peters Port, Athlone 0000, Ireland
+353 90 649 4517
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 76 Restaurants in Athlone
Price range: $18 - $43
Cuisines: Dessert, Irish, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Locke Restaurant, Athlone is located in Athlone's historical quater and is set in an enchanting 150 year old church which stands proudly on the waterfront. The church was the original Anglican church in Athlone and dates back to the early 1800's. The church still retains most of its original fetures which now form part of the gorgeous restaurant that is The Locke. The Locke is situated beside the beer garden entrance to Sean's Bar, Ireland's Oldest Pub, Athlone Castle and is in the heart of the bustling nightlife of Athlone. The restaurant is one block away from the Dean Crowe theatre. It also also is within walking distance of some of Athlone's wonderful attractions, such as the Viking Boat Cruise and the Luain Gallery. The core of the restaurant, set in the captivating and magnificent church which dates back to 1858, now known as the Locke Restaurant is the second level with its high church beamed ceilings, warm, atmospheric lighting, panelling and rich carpet. The cosy snug bar located on the lower level has a dramatic feel about it. There is live piano and harp sessions every Saturday night in the bar area of the restaurant and all are welcome to come and enjoy it, even for a drink. The Locke Restaurant is a proud Irish Restaurant, specialising in fine Irish cuisine and seafood with a strong focus on local suppliers and produce. Our award winning Head Chef, Seamus Jordan and his excellent team cook everything fresh to order and take great pride in the quality and standard of food they produce.The Locke Restaurant is open from Tuesday to Sunday served full evening, Al a Carte Menu from 5pm to 9.30Pm and There is also a great value Early Bird Menu available each day from 5pm to 7pm with 2 courses starting from €21.00 Per person. The Locke also has capacity for groups and parties with our private dining room options available for small or large groups and parties. We also have Group Menus and tailored packages for groups.
Wittenberg, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding Menu, Food, Service and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our culinary experience in all four of the categories listed in the title of the review. We had the unexpected side benefit of meeting/chatting with a fellow American on holiday at a near-by table. The atmosphere of the restaurant enhanced the experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Jim M,

Thank you for coming to dine with us during your trip to Ireland, it was our plasure to host you and your wife for dinner.
As we always say in Ireland, its a small world so you never know who you might meet, I am so happy you met a fellow american during your evening with us.

Our enchanting church is not just a building, its part of our team here at The Locke and we are very proud of it.

I hope you and your good wife will come and dine with us again during your next trip to Ireland.

With thanks,

Ann O'Shea
www.thelockerestaurant.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    43
    11
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Friendly, pleasant staff and excellent fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Booked for 4, but turned up with 6. Changing the table was no problem. Staff were pleasant and friendly throughout, telling us the history of the building back to 1690.

Food was very good, and well presented. Service was faultless. Atmosphere was good, despite it being early evening.

Haven't been to this restaurant since it was called The Chateau, but will be back, when next in Athlone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Maddocni,

It was our pleasure to host you and your group. I really hope you were all winners in the bridge tournament. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and that we were able to accommodate you and your friends. I have passed on your lovely compliments to our wonderful Head Chef and his team.

Now that you know who were at, I hope you will come and see us again.
Warmest thanks,

Ann O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, best place in athlone for food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner in the locke a couple of weeks ago, have to say was one of the best restaurants that i have been to the food was amazing and the value was great for the quality and the service was great, the atmosphere was so relaxed and calm, will definitely be going back for a meal, best spot in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Shauna15, wow, thank you so much for the wonderful review.

Seamus Jordan, our excellent Head Chef, and his team are on cloud nine after reading your feedback, they haven't stopped smiling. As a team, we all work very hard at making the Locke special and doing justice to our enchanting church so it means ever so much to us to get such lovely comments.

Thank you for making our day.
With regards,

Ann O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myerstown, PA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“YOU MUST EAT HERE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I believe in serendipity. We stayed at the Prince of Wales hotel and walked to the old town for supper. We found a couple places but nothing "called" to us. By chance we saw a small sign advertising the Locke. We started wandering by the water and found it, a converted church right on the river. We looked over the outside menu and found a couple things of interest but still weren't sure. Then Gavin happened to walk out and he invited us in for supper. After a short conversation with Gavin we realized serendipity was in play so we went in.

The place is beautiful inside and the atmosphere is wonderful, even romantic. The first thing Gavin informed us was that what we wanted on the menu was not available! :o( Instead he recommended the ox-cheek and went on to describe how it was made and how is would be served. We gave serendipity full rein and were we glad we did! :o)

Our meal and experience at the Locke were the best we had the whole time we were in Ireland! In fact it's one of the best meals we've EVER had, period! The food was unbelievably delicious. The staff was really friendly. Gavin was super (we talked with him at length after the meal). And as a topper, it was an "early bird special"! If this place was close to us in Pennsylvania we would be regulars!

If you're anywhere near Athlone you really must stop at the Locke. And please say HI to Gavin for us.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Gary H, WOW WOW WOW, is all i can say.

Thank you doesn't even do justice to such a splendid review. Gavin is so red faced from your feedback, he has never had such lovely comments said about him. I don't think he will ever stop smiling from it.

I am at a loss for words to convey our feelings from your review, it is amazing to know we made you feel so welcome and that you enjoyed your evening with us so much.

From our team of chefs to our wonderful floor staff, we all say a 1000 thank you's. We all hope that if you are ever visiting Ireland again, will be be on your list of places to visit because it would be our honor to have you back.

Warmest thanks,

Ann O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Something special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We recently enjoyed a really excellent meal in this beautiful atmospheric restaurant right on the banks of the river. Initially when we were ordering, several things we wished to order were no longer available but it was a bank holiday weekend so we just selected alternatives. I would highly recommend the stuffed quail starter - it was delicious! The steaks were really good also. But the desserts - absolulutely divine! Also loved the little extra touches that really do enhance the experience - it was a birthday outing so the waitress brought an extra dessert with a birthday greeting and we also were given Long Island teas which were delicious! The staff were lovely and excellent service. Will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
JPMNorthernIreland, Thank you so much for your review.

What a lovely complement you paid us with your title, it is so nice to be thought of in such a way but it was our very special pleasure to host you both.

At the Locke, we really believe that it is the small touches that make the biggest differences and we always try to go the extra mile for our guests. Everything we produce and use in the Locke is fresh and we change our menu everyday to reflect this, but when you deal in fresh produce, it means you only have a certain amount in stock everyday but it does mean that what ever dish you get from our menu has been made and produced on that day. Chef is delighted you enjoyed his quail, it is one of his personal favorites at the moment on the menu.

Nora is over the moon that you enjoyed the cocktails so much, that has made her day.
I sincerely hope that next time you are visiting Athlone again, you will come and visit us once more.

Warmest regards,

Ann O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Locke Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to The Locke Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Locke Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.