We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent relaxing break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wineport Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wineport Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Athlone
Dublin Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent relaxing break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I recently stayed 2 nights at Wineport Lodge. The setting is beautiful overlooking Lough Ree right n the waters edge.
I had been given a complimentary upgrade to a beautiful spacious suite with a wrap around balcony and beautiful views. The room had every amenity and a spacious bathroom added to the luxurious feel.
The staff and service were exemplary. The public areas/food/spa and roof top hot tub were also faultless.
I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear dublinminx.

Many thanks for your kind review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found that the staff and service were exemplary. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport Lodge in the future.

Best Regards,
Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    88
    36
    16
    5
See reviews for
48
340
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Had a lovely stay here, it's so tranquil and relaxing looking out onto the lake. The staff were lovely and the restuarant is fab! We also enjoyed the roof terrace hot tub and the treatments.
I would definitely return , it is pricey but well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear 7snowy.

Many thanks for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay here with us at Wineport Lodge. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in September with my wife for a midweek getaway. Hotel is amazing sitting on lough ree feels like a different world. Staff are very friendly throughout the whole hotel reception restaurant spa they make you feel at home. Got a lovely suite right on the water waking up to ducks on your doorstep. Room very spacious all mod cons pure relaxation. If you need to get away from it all wineport is the place. Food is excellent it lives up the programme the restaurant mouth watering food. It is pricey but well worth every penny a must do.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear mash84.

Thank you for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to hear that you & your wife had a pleasant and relaxing stay with us.

It was great to hear that both the staff and the quality of food lived up to the high expectations we aim to achieve here at Wineport Lodge.

We look forward to welcoming you & your wife back in the future.

Best Regards,
Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here last weekend.
This hotel is perfect for a couples weekend.The hotel and restaurant are faultless.We ate in the restaurant both nights and the meals were delicious.We had the 'Alsace' suite which was very spacious,very comfy huge bed,nice bath and shower.The outdoor hot tub was great.
The only bad point is obviously the price,but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear mickm3577.

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to hear that you found the hotel and restaurant faultless during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport Lodge in the near future.

Best Regards
Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great scenic views over Lough Ree and bedrooms very spacious and plush.

Cannot fault the place. Great restaurant also and food was quite reasonable.

A must visit for anybody when visiting Westmeath and the lakelands of Ireland

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The rooms are very cozy, just a bit chilly. The restaurant and food was ok. Just Ok. Stayed with a group of friends the view is the best part and the comfortable relaxing areas. The staff are very friendly and very attentive. The negative is the bar area, I did not like having to walk through with my bags upon check-in as it was full of people relaxing and felt that it was quiet uncomfortable having to be looked at and just awkward. Also the bar area was very slow at serving drilnks and we had a long wait for service before dinner but it was there loss as we would of had at least 3 glasses of wine while waiting. instead only time for one by the time we got served. The atmosphere in the bar area was so quiet and so quiet a bit of music to life the place would of helped. I found the Wlineport the type of place you would go to for just sleep or maybe a meal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We got a Pigsback deal and tried wineport for the first time. The location is fantastic, right on the edge of lough Ree; amazing in the morning. The hotel is small and cosy, and we loved chilling out beside the stove in the bar. All the way through our visit the staff were incredible, so much better than any five star hotel in Ireland! I recommend having a treatment, especially at great value mid week prices!
The breakfast and lunch were good however dinner was dissappointing.. More gastro pub than fine dining (at fine dining prices).
We would definitely return to the hotel and highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the idyllic shores of Lough Ree and blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Soak in the Canadian Hot Tub on the Roof Terrace and allow our resident masseuse soothe your stresses away. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wineport Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.