We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best By Far!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Snug Bar

The Snug Bar
3 Fry Place, Athlone, Ireland
+353906490971
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 Nightlife in Athlone
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 2 Beer Gardens • Live Music• Live Sport • Barbeque’s• All types of Parties catered for• Guaranteed good time!The Snug bar is a traditional cosy warm Irish pub situated in Athlones Left Bank area. It's an ideal place to enjoy a pint and watch a match or party the night away. There is a host of entertainment to be had with live music to suit all tastes. We have a large heated and covered Beer Garden with full bar, Big Screen TV and BBQ which makes an ideal location for you and your friends to wile away an afternoon on sunny days. Drop in if you want to watch Live Sports in a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best By Far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I spent a few nights in Athlone last week and had researched pubs in Athlone on trip advisor before making my trip. I visited a few of the recommendations on here and can safely say this pub is the best by far. Live music most nights, staff are friendly, pub is cosy and there was a great atmosphere, looking forward to going back to Athlone and The Snug soon.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
“Best Bar in the Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Always go here at weekends and on a Wednesday night the music is fantastic and there is a great crowd. Staff and service excellent by far the best bar in the town.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“brilliant pub great atsmophere bar staff excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

will definately go back friendly staff had pizza with my beer loved the band would recommend this pub to anyone

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thanks Guys!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Just want to say a big big THANK YOU to everyone in The Snug for all the great nights we have had there lately, everytime we go to the snug the night out is simply fantastic. Live music is always great and the craic super, the staff really make the pub what it is.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

Caters to a younger crowd than Seans has a smokers area and bands out the back. Worth a look

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Snug Bar also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to The Snug Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Snug Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.