We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bartender ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Snug Bar

The Snug Bar
3 Fry Place, Athlone, Ireland
+353906490971
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 29 things to do in Athlone
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 2 Beer Gardens • Live Music• Live Sport • Barbeque’s• All types of Parties catered for• Guaranteed good time!The Snug bar is a traditional cosy warm Irish pub situated in Athlones Left Bank area. It's an ideal place to enjoy a pint and watch a match or party the night away. There is a host of entertainment to be had with live music to suit all tastes. We have a large heated and covered Beer Garden with full bar, Big Screen TV and BBQ which makes an ideal location for you and your friends to wile away an afternoon on sunny days. Drop in if you want to watch Live Sports in a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best bartender ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

My friend and I have been backpacking through Ireland and we were fortunate enough to stumble into this great place. Great bar with an awesome bartender. The night we spend at this pub was one of the best nights we've had out in Europe. If you want to avoid the tourists and meet real Irish people, go here.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitewitch81, Owner at The Snug Bar, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thank you very much for your very kind review.... We strive to give the best to our customers,and we are delighted that you enjoyed ur visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Regards Paul and Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Co. Westmeath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Great pub, great atmosphere, great bar people....what more can i say. When you are in Athlone make sure to pay the Snug a visit. They always have music at the weekends too which gets everyone dancing and having the crack

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitewitch81, Owner at The Snug Bar, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you very much for your very kind review.... We strive to give the best to our customers,and we are delighted that you enjoyed ur visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Regards Paul and Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super Snug”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Went to The Snug on my hen night. Had great craic, locals and bar staff very friendly. Brill atmosphere and great location. Danced the night away. Would recommend this pub to anyone!

Visited July 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitewitch81, Owner at The Snug Bar, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you very much for your very kind review.... We strive to give the best to our customers,and we are delighted that you enjoyed ur visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Regards Paul and Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for a drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Great place to for a drink. We had a drink here before going to great Thai restaurant just up the road. Right in the heart of "Left Bank" area of he town where all the good. Pubs and restaurants are. We stopped in here after our meal too. They had good band, staff were very friendly and crowd were good craic. Don't miss it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitewitch81, Owner at The Snug Bar, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you very much for your very kind review.... We strive to give the best to our customers,and we are delighted that you enjoyed ur visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Regards Paul and Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great bar. Fast friendly staff that can't do enough for you. Just beside the castle in the town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Well worth planning your night around. Will go again next time we visit from UK. There are v good restaraunts just beside this bar so we went in after the meal and had a great time. They have a fantastic smoke room at the rear. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitewitch81, Owner at The Snug Bar, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thank you very much for your very kind review.... We strive to give the best to our customers,and we are delighted that you enjoyed ur visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Regards Paul and Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Snug Bar also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to The Snug Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Snug Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.