We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed - small portions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Di Bella Restaurant

Di Bella Restaurant
High Street, Athlone, Ireland
090 6444830
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 76 Restaurants in Athlone
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed - small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have been a customer of Di Bella for years and usually love it, but my most recent visit left me very disappointed, the portions were very small. I ordered lasagne and it came in a large dish with a tiny bit of lasagne in the middle and swimming in sauce, with a few chips on the side. My husband's pasta portion was also pretty mean. Id say there was hardly two tablespoons of mince in my lasagne. I was still hungry leaving the restaurant. On a positive note the staff are very friendly and helpful and the food tasted nice but the portion size really let them down... wont be returning any time soon..

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    36
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“keep up the good work!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Recently had a family meal here, party of 5, execllent meal, calamari was had by two of us, very nice, bruchetta by my wife and soup by my daughter..all enjoyed. All our Main courses were excellent and desserts were tasty and homemade. Really nice atmosphere and ambience, staff attentive and professional. Overall a excellent dining option in Athlone...can't wait to return. Well done to all..keep up the good work.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have visited this restaurant on numerous occasions and subsequently recommended it to friends and colleagues and the feedback is always the same, Excellent.
The staff are fantastic, the atmosphere is fabulous and the food and value for money is exceptional.
This is one place not to be missed......
Can't wait to get back there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The food is amazing, the staff are so friendly and professional. Have visited about 4 times and never once have we been disappointed. The pizza is delicious so fresh, pasta dishes are tasty, and the lasange is the nicest i have ever had. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Had an enjoyable visit here with my husband. Food and service good. Nice atmosphere and good location, in a pub Hun area of Athlone. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Di Bella Restaurant also viewed

 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Di Bella Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Di Bella Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.