We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From one Norman Castle to another.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athlone Castle

Athlone Castle
Athlone, Ireland
09064 42130
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Attractions in Athlone
Type: Castles, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This imposing castle was originally built in 1210 for England's King John. The newly renovated space offers visitors the chance to explore 8 new exhibits that tell the story of the castle and the town of Athlone on the banks of the River Shannon.
Carrickfergus
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“From one Norman Castle to another.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Living in Carrickfergus which has a Magnificent 1280 Castle we are into Castles and found this one and it's history very interesting.
There are great video depictions of the siege and the whole story is very well told with lots of eager volunteer staff on hand to assist.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    64
    22
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting, informative and enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I think they tell you that 50 minutes to an hour will 'do' the castle, but I was in there for two hours. Lots of interesting displays, some interactive, and the volunteer who gave us a history of the castle was very informative and interesting to listen to. I really enjoyed my visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Visited with three kids recently and really enjoyed it. Good fun. Small but perfectly formed and lots of interactive stuff.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Rather small castle.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

When I asked a local if the castle was worth a visit, I earned a confused look and the answer 'Not sure about that... '.

I still paid a visit and at first was delighted to see that you could enter the castle without any fee. There is an interesting exhibition in the middle, as well as a museum and the tourist office. The lookout was nice as well, you could see a lot of the city of Athlone.

However, for me as a young adult, the castle itself was quite boring. It is really small and there's not that much to be seen. If you happen to be in Athlone, go there and take a look at it, but it's really not a 'must see'

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not the average castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I wish we had more time to spend at this castle. I found it interesting as an engineer because of the way it was built. It really is more of a fort than a traditional castle in Ireland. The visitor's center is a beautiful addition to the castle and the architecture blends so well. We didn't have time to go inside but from the interior grounds of the castle you get a great view of the Shannon River. There are lots of restaurants and shops nearby all within walking distance. parking is pretty limited though but a spot cvan be had not too far up the street.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athlone Castle also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Athlone Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athlone Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.