We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hodson Bay Hotel Poor value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hodson Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hodson Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Hodson Bay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hodson Bay, Athlone, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€79 (EUR)
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hodson Bay Hotel Poor value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband an I treated ourselves to a one night spa pamper package in the retreat lake view room in the Hodson Bay Hotel. At a cost of about €350 (including a bottle of wine with dinner) it was a most disappointing experience and I consider it to be very bad value for money.

The "lake view" consisted of a view of the roof tiles covered in moss of the main building and vegetation growing in the gutters. There was a balcony the full length of the building. Two dead bay trees in pots on the balcony designated our balcony area. By looking over these dead trees or leaning over the balcony and looking left, you could indeed glimpse the lake. The floor to ceiling windows were filthy as was the glass barrier on the balcony. The net curtains on the windows had dirty marks on them too. The patio door had no key which meant our room was accesible to others from the shared patio. We phoned reception to ask about the key and request towels. The towels were delivered while we were not in the room - we heard no more about the key. No gowns or slippers are provided although the room was in the "retreat" wing. The lighting in the wardrobes was dubious - there were wires held together with electrical tape on show.

The swimming pool was fine except for the same problem with absolutely filthy floor to ceiling windows. The spa treatments (one 30 minute facial and one 15 minute head massage) were nice. The thermal spa area is small (mainly sauna, steam room, heated loungers, showers) - there isn't any hydrotherapy section to it.

Dinner was good and the restaurant is nice. The pace is a bit frantic though - there seems to be a huge rush to get everyone fed and out of the restaurant.

Checking in and out involved long waits but the staff were doing their best. We witnessed some complaints from customers. I have no desire to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
At the hotel we are always looking at ways to improve the service and experience that our guests receive when they stay with us and we have found your feedback very informative. I would expecially like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. It is regrettable that you feel that you did not get value for money, as we pride ourselves on customer care and satisfaction. We unfortunately did not get to meet prior to your departure, so perhaps you might like to drop me a line to thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Mr Timothy Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    286
    138
    80
    40
See reviews for
373
364
14
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

This is a great value for money hotel which obviously prides itself on providing a very high standard of service in a relaxed atmosphere. Ambiance in the Retreat is soothing, quiet and peaceful. Staff are friendly, attentive and clearly pride themselves on their customer service skills.

Room Tip: It is worth paying that tiny bit extra for a room in The Retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We came down here fr a few days as part of our honeymoon, we booked the lake retreat room and it was lovely. The view from our room was straight out onto the water and fabulous!. The room was lovely and clean, very comfortable bed and bed linen was nice. The staff were very good, when the manager realized it was our honeymoon, we had a complimentary bottle of champagne arrive to our room, which was very nice and personal. The food was lovely, the breakfast was the nicest iv ever had in a hotel, catered for everyone. We went for an evening meal in L'escale and it was fab! I had a treatment in the Spa and it was fab, the decor is so relaxing. The pool was lovely and warm!

Now the only thing was that the windows were dirty on the outside. Now i know its difficult to keep windows clean but they looked like they hadn't been washed in a while.

We will definitely be back with our son this time! It was the most relaxing break we have had!

Room Tip: The lakeside retreat room, fantastic views of the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is an excellent hotel for young families. Plenty of entertainment and well run clubs to let parents have free time and baby sitters available if needed. Well run and in a beautiful setting. Couples without young children are accommodated in a serparate part. Rooms clean and comfortable. Lovely swimming pool and the standard of food very good. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is extremely busy and if you stay you will understand why! We booked a family room Saturday 28th Aug, we had just returned from family holiday and stayed here en route to Croke Park the following day. The kids club is excellent, plenty of staff, children are catered for from 6.30pm til 11.00pm and they are fed their dinner and desert. They play games and then settle down to watch a movie, all for €15.00 per child. While the children played husband and i ate in the bar and enjoyed the live music. We collected the children @ 10.45pm and headed to a lovely comfortable bed.
Breakfast in the morning was very busy but we did not have long to wait for a table. Breakfast is one of the best i have tasted and so much variety on offer. Lovely friendly staff too. Will certainly be back............

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed as part of a group. The hotel is top class as usual with one exception and that being that when the bar personnel were pulling pints of Carlsberg they stood the glasses into a couple of inches of slops and then handed them out. I asked two of them why they did this to be told that "that is the way it is". I would be disappointed that such a fine establishment would fall down on a basic practice which would be to serve beer in a clean glass please.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Spent last weekend at the Hodson Bay Hotel with our family , Had a lovely time , From check in to check out everything was great, Will be back soon ,

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hodson Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Address: Hodson Bay, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Heart of Irish midlands on the shores of the picturesque Lough Ree, guests at the 4 * Hodson Bay Hotel can relax to the gentle sound of water lapping on the shoreline, while enjoying the panoramic backdrop of the Irish Countryside. Our location is simply unbeatable and the hotel commands breath-taking views of the Lake and its numerous islands. Guests can unwind and rejuvenate in the The Spa at Hodson Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hodson Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.