We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hodson Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hodson Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Hodson Bay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hodson Bay, Athlone, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€79 (EUR)
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
tralee
1 review
“Most enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2007

Stayed in the Hudson Bay for two nights when in Athlone for a meeting. Subsequently I returned with my family for another two nights as I was so impressed. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotless and the food was lovely. I can highly recommend this hotel for the family break or if travelling on business. The Spa is certainly worth a visit.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    285
    137
    80
    40
See reviews for
371
362
14
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

Recently stayed at the Hodson Bay Hotel and our expectations where more than exceeded. Staff went out of their way to help and make our stay as pleasant as possible. The Spa & leisure club amenitities along with views topped off our stay in the Lakelands. We will be back in the New Year.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

We stayed in the hodson bay hotel for two nights in November 2007. firstly the setting is lovely and the lake is beautiful. the hotel is very big and from the outside it looks a littel grubby. the reception area is tiny for a hotel of its size. we checked in and were told that we were on a bed and breakfast basis. dinner was to be included one night but this was not on their computer when we checked in even though i booked directly on their website and had a confirmation print out. i don't understand how that can happen when you book directly. anyway they sorted it out for us. we went to our room and were very diassapointed. the room was fairly big but it was so dated and worn looking. i'm sure it was a lovely hotel when it opened in 1992 but it looks old and grubby now. the window was absolutely filthy, covered in dirt and grime. the handles on the window were broken and almost swung the whole way around. the curtains had holes in the blackout lining. definately no where near 4 star standard. the food was excellent and the spa was fabulous. when we checked out there was a queue of 7 geusts and only one receptionest on duty. the whole place needs a major revamp. it you are looking for a luxury break you will be sorely dissapointed. it you are looking for an average standard hotel you might still be dissapointed. there was no bottled wated provided in the room. i would struggle to give the whole place a 3 star rating

  • Liked — setting, spa, food
  • Disliked — rooms, cleanliness, poor standards
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed and that steps have been made to improve our services. In the interim we have made vast changes to our facilities and are continually seeking to improve on our customer satisfaction. We do hope that, if you have not already done so, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hodson Bay Hotel to see these changes for yourself. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. Instead of being "a haven of tranquillity in the heart of the Midlands" as stated on its website, it reminded me of a busy train station. The reception staff seem overwhelmed with the large volumes of guests particularly during weddings and functions. I stayed here on the 10th November for a long-awaited night away with 2 girl friends. We stayed in the Retreat section which had lovely rooms. Unfortunately the hotel had messed up the booking (made via the internet 2 months before) and had allocated a double room intead of a twin room. I queued for 30 minutes at Reception to try and sort this out to no avail. The manager photocopied my confirmation (stating twin beds were required) but the hotel was full so we couldn't change rooms. I eventually had to leave the Reception desk as had dinner reservations made. Nipped into restaurant, ordered my meal and came out to Reception again where I waited for another 20 minutes. Manager's solution was to put in extra bed in the room which meant one girl was charged €130 to sleep on a tiny, hard fold-up bed.........

On the plus side the Spa is really lovely. The spa staff are wonderful and the treatments are top class. I highly recommend a visit. In the restaurant, the food is great and the waiting staff are pleasant. It's unfortunate that my relaxing spa experience in the afternoon was ruined by continued queueing.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed and that steps have been made to improve our services. In the interim we have made vast changes to our facilities and are continually seeking to improve on our customer satisfaction. We do hope that, if you have not already done so, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hodson Bay Hotel to see these changes for yourself. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2007

i attended a wedding in the Hodson Bay and having been to numerous weddings i have to say this had to be the best ever....
Added to the fact that all of the wedding party were a great crowd facilities and staff in the hotel were second to none

  • Liked — staff were great
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

Just back from the Hodson Bay had a realy great time. The staff where just wonderful and I really cant wait to get another chance to visit them all agin

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

We stayed there for 2 nights in September as part of a very large business group and I felt let down. It has been 2 years since my last stay and standards have gone down. My main complains were:
- Bar food amongst the worst I have every eaten
- My room (in old part of building) was very small, smelly and poorly finished
- Service slow
- Breakfast service very slow- but food was very good
- Dinner service even slower – food was average
- Meeting rooms poor layout, insufficient power sockets and very poor ventilation

On the plus side:
The swimming pool is very good
Internet in all rooms and WiFi in meeting rooms

  • Liked — Mot much
  • Disliked — Poor service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed and that steps have been made to improve our services. In the interim we have made vast changes to our facilities and are continually seeking to improve on our customer satisfaction. We do hope that, if you have not already done so, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hodson Bay Hotel to see these changes for yourself. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hodson Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Address: Hodson Bay, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Heart of Irish midlands on the shores of the picturesque Lough Ree, guests at the 4 * Hodson Bay Hotel can relax to the gentle sound of water lapping on the shoreline, while enjoying the panoramic backdrop of the Irish Countryside. Our location is simply unbeatable and the hotel commands breath-taking views of the Lake and its numerous islands. Guests can unwind and rejuvenate in the The Spa at Hodson Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hodson Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.