We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, in a very central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Prince of Wales Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Prince of Wales Hotel to your Saves list
The Prince of Wales Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Street, Athlone, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Lovely hotel, in a very central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

This is a beautiful hotel in a very central location. Staff were always pleasant and polite, and the food was delicious. Beautiful decor. The hotel is in the centre of the town, very close to a large shopping centre, several nightclubs, church and a beauty spa.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2009
Thank you for your kind words. We hope to get the chance to look after you again soon. Don't forget to check our website for ongoing special offers.
Kind regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    151
    54
    21
    26
See reviews for
43
176
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Just back from a short stay at the Prince of wales. We were slightly worried when we noticed our room was directly over the nightclub but we neednt have worried, the windows were double glazed to keep out noise. Over all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2009
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales very soon. Don't forget to check our website for ongoing special offers! Sincerely, Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST, N. IRELAND
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

My husband and I and two friends had booked 2 nights B&B plus one evening meal, through a website. We actually got a deal which was half the correct price, but the hotel honoured this booking at the website price. Not only this but they upgraded both our rooms!

Our rooms were spotless, huge with the biggest bed I have ever seen, and so comfortable. The bathroom had a multijet power shower, double pedestal basins and deep bath. All just perfect.

The hotel staff were so friendly, cheery and helpful, making the atmosphere very accommodating.

The food in the bar/restaurant was faultless. It is noted in the room that the bar becomes very busy at lunchtimes, no wonder - it seemed like all the locals came there for lunch - for either a bar meal, or full cooked meal. This is a true sign that the food is good enough to bring in the locals every day. We were happy to wait until about 2pm - just having a drink - until the bar area cleared.


We had stayed in the Prince of Wales many years ago before it was demolished and rebuilt - it was awful then - now it is great! Athlone is a lovely friendly town - with the old and the new side by side, including a totally new shopping centre with up-market shops.

Will definitely be back to both the hotel and Athlone.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2009
What a pleasure to receive such a review!

Thank you very much for your kind words. I remember the rate mix-up, as we had just started using a new system, and we were naturally happy to honor the quoted rate.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

hotel is well located for a transit or business stay, it is in the centre of town with free parking. The roomsare well appointed with modernTV's.

I was a very late arrival, a nd could not get a meal, but that was my fault.

Useful, clean, convenient; Athlone is virtually in the centre of Ireland, so very handy.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2009
Thank you for your kind review and for your favorable comments regarding the Prince of Wales Hotel.

We hope you get the opportunity to stay with us again.

As with most hotels, you'll see that we are better value than ever as we now have a very special Sunday to Thursday rate of 65 Eur for our guests.

We hop to see you again soon.

Chris Vos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

Stayed at the Prince of Wales hotel last weekend and it was unbeatable value - great reception rooms, great rooms, great dinner, great breakfast - absolutely recommendable to everyone who likes to be in the heart of Athlone. Many thanks to the hotel staff for helping us have an unforgettable hen weekend!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2009
Thank you so much for your kind words.

Your comments will be passed on to all of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

Having read reviews for this hotel, I decided to stay there.

Good points
* the staff are all very friendly
* nice spacious room
* air con, which was needed, as the room was hot
* VERY nice double sized shower
* not a huge bar menu, but the burger was nice
* FREE wi-fi, always useful for business people like me
* nice breakfast available

Bad points
* I was near the back of the hotel, and what I assume was the back of the kitchen was VERY noisy at 10.30PM
* the light on the vanity mirror, in the bathroom, did not work (I like to use it for shaving)

I am always looking at the details in hotels, and liek most, theer are always a few things that iritate me a bit. There were a few cracked tiles, some grout was missing on tiles, nothing major, just attention to details that I find important.

Bear in mind that the streets are in chaos aswell, with loads of roadworks and one way streets being constructed. If you use sat nav be prepared to go right around the streets to get to it, but the parkign is at least free.

Would I stay again?
Yeah, no problem. Its a nice hotel all in, fairly inexpensive, and quite central. For the business guys and girls, it is a good stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not a lot
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and for your, overall, positive review.

We will look into the matters you addressd and will continue to strive towards getting all the details right for our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Chris Vos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

July 12th 2008 saw Athlone swarm with Traithletes.. up to 1700 I believe.

3 of us (Triathletes) had booked a double room (requesting an extra cot bed) and it was easily accommodated. Very pleasantly it was only an extra €20 for the third person and included breakfast. Great deal.

On arrival to Athlone the whole town was swarming and I automatically assumed that check-in might be something similar. Not so. Once our race was complete we tried our luck and went to ask if we could possibly check-in early. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and accommodating. They honestly were terribly helpful, above and beyond what you would expect. They even suggested helping us put our luggage in the room early so that we were less-burdened going to get the car... and this was without having to actually check-in, as my credit card was in the car still.

Room was all you could ask for. A little noisy on the first floor from the nightclub... but given the night that was in it (Triathlete party) it was to be expected and in fairness it quietened down in good time.

Breakfast was plentiful and tasty.

Same friendly service checking out.

Nice and central to the town.

Definitely recommend and I'll be checking in early next year for TriAthlone 2009.

  • Liked — Friendly Service
  • Disliked — Slightly noisy from nightclub
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAthlone, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2008
I am delighted that you had a positive experience at the Prince of Wales Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for the triathlone in 2009.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prince of Wales Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.