We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Prince of Wales Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Prince of Wales Hotel to your Saves list
The Prince of Wales Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Street, Athlone, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed at the prince of Wales hotel for just one night. We requested a quiet room and we got one. Room quite spacious. Loved the shower. A/c worked well which was great as we are having a heat wave. Had a snack in the bar at a very reasonable price. Great location. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    139
    51
    20
    25
See reviews for
40
166
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

we chose Athlone as a mid point, traveling from Dublin to Galway, and needed a place to stay. looked over choices on tripadvisor, and found The Prince of Wales. we thought the price was reasonable, and the location, mid town, ideal, so we booked it. on arrival our room was ready, we settled in and were happy to note there was a good quality of air conditioning, considering that Ireland was enjoying an unusually warm and dry few weeks. the bathroom was clean, but we had not requested a nonsmoking room, and i thought the room smelled like smokers had used it often. the amenities in the bath were very nice. the beds were three twins, one was more of a cot than an actual bed. we went out to explore a bit of the town, including historic Athlone Castle, and the receptionist offered us discount coupons for the admission there.
we ended up eating dinner in the pup, excellent fish and chips, and my one and only bannoffee pie, which i loved! food and service in the pub was excellent.
breakfast in the morning was in a dining room on the opposite side of the reception area. we were offered tea or coffee, a cold buffet was set up with juices, fruit and yougurt, along with cold cereals, scones and pastries. a young waitress brought us tea and toast, and took orders for cooked eggs and sausages or porridge. it was all very good, no complaints here!
i think this is an ideal location, free parking in back. my brother stayed elsewhere in athlone later in the week and had no AC on a very hot day of traveling.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and were happy with the room we were given, it was well appointed. We ate in the bar area, the food was very good and reasonably priced. We had breakfast in the hotel which was very good and made to order. There was no air conditioning which normally would not have been a problem but it was extremely hot so we had the windows open.

Room Tip: We stayed at this hotel on Thursday, this was a mistake if you need to sleep. There is a night club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a great weekend stay at the Prince of Wales and can't say enough good things about the place, all positive, from the moment we checked in, the staff were extremely nice and friendly, the manager Padraic was very hands on and made us feel very welcome. The food was exceptional, breakfasts cooked fresh and plentiful, we ate in the restaurant both nights and were extremely happy with the quality & choice of menu, superb food and best banoffi pie ever. The hotel itself has a sandwich bar which is great and so unusual where you can have sandwiches of choice made freshly in front of you or cakes to choose from with an afternoon coffee, I really liked this idea, hubbie could have his pints and myself coffee and cakes all in the bar. The bedrooms were nicely decorated, great big bed, we were delighted to have air conditioning in this lovely hot weather, shower was huge and had plenty of wall jets, another nice touch. The bar at night comes alive with music and live bands. It totally added to the atmosphere and made for a great fun weekend. The hotel itself is located right in the heart of the city with everything on your door step, the shopping centre is right beside hotel and the River Shannon a 2 minute walk down the street where boat rides are available. I will definitely be back and can't wait for our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, NJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

we had a large family group and settled into the Prince of Wales for an outstanding stay. Best shower I have ever taken, and rooms had air conditioning during a rare Irish heat wave. Location is superior, and also had a wonderful breakfast. A steal at the price asked

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel to break up a long drive across country, so price was a main consideration. I think this hotel provides great value, both for quick stopovers, and for longer stays in the region. There is actually quite a lot to do in the midlands- who knew? Our room was small but had everything we needed, tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, air conditioning, really nice bathroom (shower only), and no noise pollution from the busy night club once the window was closed. Staff are young and friendly, and there was a great buzz about the place as we stayed on the tri-athlone weekend. We had paid for room only but paid €6 each for a good breakfast which was very reasonable. Free car parking in the centre of town is a bonus also.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great weekend away in this hotel in May - there was a group of us together. Early check in was greatly appreciated - lunch was great! service very prompt. Rooms were very clean, and spacious. Reception were very helpful throughout the entire stay which was great to see!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prince of Wales Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.