We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week break in Athlone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Prince of Wales Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Prince of Wales Hotel to your Saves list
The Prince of Wales Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Street, Athlone, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Londonderry
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mid week break in Athlone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Recently returned from a mid week break at the Prince of Wales, our third. The hotel was as good and the staff as friendly as ever. We had a front room this time with a nice view of the church. The sound proofing was excellent so there was no traffic noise. A nice feature of the room was a low level light beside the en-suite door- very useful at night for old and young! The breakfasts were as good as ever and we had all our evening meals in the Prince bar, the food not only tasted terrific but the presentation was excellent.
Athlone is a lovely old town with very nice riverside walks, but is also good touring centre, we went to Galway one day and explored around Louhg Derg on another one.
We would realy recommend a stay here.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    139
    51
    20
    25
See reviews for
40
166
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Have recently stayed at prince of wales hotel and were well looked after by all the staff who were excellent ,rooms were very comfortable and clean, food was excellent and was very reasonable as were the drinks in the bar. Will be staing at prin of wales any time we are visiting Athlone,and would highly recommend this hotel to anybody visiting athlone.

couple from Dublin

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay and more important that you will be back to us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Midlands and The Prince of Wales in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed in Prince of Wales for midweek break, had a great time. ideally located in centre of town for shopping and nights out. Rooms were lovely, great atmosphere in the bar, food was great as was the service received from the bar staff and reception staff. Highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

Thank you for choosing to stay in the Prince of Wales and taking the time to post a review. I was delighted to read your kind comments in relation to your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales & the Midlands in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Just back from a hen weekend we stayed in the Prince of Wales hotel. We only stayed one night but some stayed two nights and everyone had the same good reviews of the hotel. The staff were so helpful and friendly .We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and we also ate at the bar the food was fantastic. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel .You will get great service and value for money

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review.

We strive to constantly improve our service and what we offer and its nice to see that its noticed.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales in the future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

Great location, great value, free parking, coffee supplied free of charge apon arrival and departure in the bar,
Had a very enjoyable stay with great food and service.
Rooms were clean and spacious four a city centre hotel.
Love to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Its great to see that you enjoyed your stay. We recently started offering the free Tea/Coffee and a lot of people have commented on it. I suppose as the saying goes "Its the small things that count".

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales soon.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed in The Prince of Wales recently. I was attending a hen party. I have to say from start to finish the hotel was excellent. We had dinner in the hotel that night and it was really lovely and the service was very fast, but the food was hot and freshly cooked. The resturant was busy at the time and staff seemed to have a lot of time for everyone. The room was perfect, clean and the bathroom was huge!

I would strongly recommend this hotel and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely kind review.

Thank you for your nice comments in relation to your hen party in the Prince of Wales. We cook everything fresh and make our own sauces, desserts and prepare everything in house.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales soon.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with my girlfriend for a week end. Found the hotel to be very comfortable. The room was spotless. We ate in the prince bar. Food was very good & very reasonable. The hotel is very central so we were able to go around the town. Plenty of things to do & plenty of good bars. Went to karma nite club one nite. It was buzzin. Overall a great place for a get away week end

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your lovely review of the Prince of Wales Hotel.

We were delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay and even made Karma.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales and the Midlands on your next trip.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prince of Wales Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.