We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and fantastic service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hatters Bistro

Hatters Bistro
The Strand, Athlone, Ireland
+353 90 647 3077
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 81 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $30
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Hatter's Lane Bistro at Strand Street on Athlone's Leinster shore. Ideally located 3 minutes from the Town Bridge, Radisson, Prince of Wales and Sheraton hotels. The Hollywood themed bistro offers a welcoming cosy atmosphere with open fire, check table clothes, walls adorned with movie star icons. The background music is easy listening typically featuring tunes from Sinatra, Martin, Bennett and the likes... Running in tandem with Gertie Brown's old world award winning pub, Hatters Lane offers the customer a unique and satisfying dining experience and hopefully will continue to serve great food well for years to come...
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and fantastic service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We were passing through Athlone and stopped for a quick bite. Our friend from Athlone recommended this place to us. I had a main course pasta that was absolutely delicious, my partner had only a starter both of us really enjoyed it. Atmosphere and decor in this restaurant is amazing, our waitress Patricia was just great, very helpful and lovely to talk to. We definitely will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    34
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I am local but had not eaten in Hatters in years, for no particular reason. I love the cosiness of the restaurant and is a lovely location for couple’s more than large groups given its nooks and crannies. Our meal was absolutely fab. My main course, which was a special on that evening, of cod on a bed of braised leeks with crab cakes deserves a special mention. From the presentation to the taste it was great. It wouldn’t be dinner in Hatters without the Toblerone Cheesecake for dessert which is a must! Service was great, friendly staff and food superb. Can’t wait to return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“And they told us not to go to Athlone!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our (very old) guide book told us that Athlone was drab and dreary and not worth a visit. We beg to differ. We had a drink in the oldest bar in Eire then went on to Hatters which was recommended by a local

We found it a very sophisticated and welcoming dining place with great decor

The quality of waiting staff was excellent as was all our food.

Highly recommended!!l

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cosy atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We picked Hatters for a meal after work. The restaurant is really nice, with red and white checked table cloths, a feel at home atmosphere.
The menue is varied, an there is also a menu of the day. I had soup of the day that was absolutely gorgeous, and a perfect hamburger, including chips and onion rings. Good service as well.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Top hat to Hatters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Two visits within a week. Enjoyed the Early Bird menu and it was terrific value!
Booking is essential especially from & including Thursday to Weekend, as this place fills up very quickly.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hatters Bistro also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Hatters Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatters Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.