We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thyme Restaurant

Thyme Restaurant
Custume Place, Athlone, Ireland
090 6478850
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 77 Restaurants in Athlone
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dundalk, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“average for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

starters were nice had salmon tartare was ok duck for main course very dry sc was just like water the fondant was burnt

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    68
    20
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch - Surpassed our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We went out for Sunday Lunch this week and we were very plesantly surprised by the whole experience. FIrstly our waitress was very welcoming and attentive, the menu offered an excellent selection with a very nice goat's cheese option with beetroot salad as a vegetarian starter. When I enquired about a vegetarian main course (there was nothing on the printed menu) I was told about a vegetable charlotte which included butter beans and was wrapped in ribbons of courgette. I didn't have to think twice I ordered it. All the food was very well presented - my wife started with a croquette which was served with a celeriac remoulade - both starters were excellent. My main course was excellent - as good a vegetarian dish as I have had for a long time - my wife ordered the monkfish and this was a nice generous portion of fish served with vegetables including a stunning arrangement of peas, celery and chard which was outstanding. We finished off our meal with the ginger sticky pudding and ice-cream which was first class and a drop of sambucca to top the perfect meal. All in all an excellent meal - we were both more than happy with all of our choices and we won't leave it too long before we make a return visit.
Great to find a chef who really understands vegetables. My advice would be to put the vegetarian option on the printed menu. We have often walked away from a restaurant which didn't display its vegetarian option...in this case the dish would hold its own compared to any meat or fish dish! Well done Chef and well done to the waitresses who handled all the front of house service so well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty, locally sourced and beautifully presented food with very friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely meal! All the staff were very friendly and attentive. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not as good as people claim”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Starters were excellent- absolutely no complaints- but main course was another story. We ordered duck and the bavette steak. The duck was served with a horrible sauce which had an overall taste like plain stock and the duck itself was dry. The bavette was better for sure but my partner was still disappointed. They need to improve main courses.
The waitresses were friendly but it was slow service from starters on. So, while it started great it just plummeted from there. I mentioned the problem with the sauce to the waitress and she seemed indifferent and made no effort to say 'Sorry about that' and just said 'Hm' in an indifferent way.
If you know anything about food this will disappoint you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great food at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lovely resteraunt. Great food and service. Very reasonably priced too. Great place for a date its very cosy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thyme Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Thyme Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thyme Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.