We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant atmosphere, great music and a decent pint....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sean's Bar

Sean's Bar
13 Main Street, Athlone, Ireland
+353 90 649 2358
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Nightlife in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant atmosphere, great music and a decent pint....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Popped in to Seans during a quick mid-week break in Athlone and would definitely go back again for more of the same.

There was live celtic/folk music in the main bar (when you first enter) and out back in the beer garden additional solo artists were plying their trade.

The bar has a very typical old-Ireland feel to it with many artifacts and pictures from bygone days. The beer garden is very spacious and great for larger groups to socialize.

It is in a very picturesque part of Athlone with the old castle and the river Shannon basically right outside the door.

Good selection of drinks and a great pint of Guinness also.

You won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    86
    17
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great pint of Guinness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Typical Irish bar, busy, great Guinness, good service and Irish music. Plenty of room since bar extends to a beer garden

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford,ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“excellent craic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

what a lively place, packed to the gills, all nationalities, very friendly place and excellent nite had by all

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Food was a mess”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had lunch here and the experience was hilarious. We arrived in just before a spanish tour. We ordered and I'm sorry we did! The location is lovely, quaint and old. We found out after our meal that the food is cooked 4 doors down the street, we met the waitress running up the street with plates of food from a café. so your food goes from a café down the road, to the middle of the bar where the waitress shouts out what she has in her hand and you put your hand up for it if you think it's yours. Come on, this might be the oldest bar in Ireland but standards have moved on!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“CENTRE POINT IN ATHLONE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Sean's Bar has a history going back over 10000 years. Typical Irish pub, serving good drink. No food except for sarnies annd mugs of tea and coffee. Well worth a visit just to see and feel the place. Better visited in the evening, the later the better. Traditional music played most nights. Beer garden at the rear of the pub in which people can also smoke. Toilet facilities not the best.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sean's Bar also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Sean's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sean's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.