We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sean's Bar

Sean's Bar
13 Main Street, Athlone, Ireland
+353 90 649 2358
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Nightlife in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent Pub,authentic atmosphere also the oldest pub in Ireland. a warm welcome from both the many tourist's and locals. A real must see!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    86
    17
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Place to visit when in athlone.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Visited Sean's Bar when in Athlone on Hen party!! Bar kindly cordoned off area for us cause there was 32 of us!! It was outside in the marquee attached to the pub. This is heated by few scattered patio heaters, This is where the band plays.. In saying that the band didn't start till 10:30, with no music b4 that.. Which I thought was weird... Drink was normal pricing. Nothing special!! Toilets were small but clean.. If there is only one or two prleople in group stay in front bar for atmosphere until bands start..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Go back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I just love this pub , I am a publican in Dublin yet I love this old style bar . The best feature is the open log fire as you walk in and the somewhat quirky uneven bar counter that ads to this charming place ! I love getting away from Dublin for a couple of days with my wife and having a few nice creamy pints of guinness with friendly staff who remember you from previous visits , well done Sean's bar yet again and I'll be back again soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Must do in Athlone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our friend who used to live in Athlone recommended us this pub as a must do so we gave it a try and went there for a drink on Saturday night.
It's a very cute and cosy pub with real Irish atmosphere, we have been living in Ireland for a few years and it was the most authentic 'Irish' pub we've been to so far.
When we opened the door near the entrance there was a little band playing Irish music and the pub was packed by people. It looked like a picture you can see in Irish guide books.
The prices are reasonable, we got a beer and hot whiskey and had a great time.
If we are ever back in Athlone, we will get a pint there again for sure.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Guinness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had no idea this was the oldest pub in Ireland! What a treat with a cozy bar and warm fireplace. The Guinness was the best I've had in Ireland.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sean's Bar also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Sean's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sean's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.