We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite local place for Italian food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IL Colosseo Italian Restaurant

IL Colosseo Italian Restaurant
Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland
090 647 5094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 81 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Favourite local place for Italian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

There is many places offering pizza, or Italian cuisine in Athlone, but Il Colosseo is definitely the best! I did my son's communion dinner in there, I sometimes go there with my husband for a romantic dinner, I even drop in with friends for a quick coffee/dessert/salad, while my children are in Karate dojo nearby. Yesterday I ordered six pizzas for collection, and was treated a bottle of wine on the house! No need to say, I ate my "Roma" pizza from edge to edge, entirely! (thats why I ordered six of them - to not have to share ;) Pastas and desserts are also worth a praise - best tiramisu ever!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    35
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Italian food and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

located 5 mins from the centre of Athlone Il Colosseo is a great place for familiy and friends. The service is always consistently friendly and the food represents great value for money. Access is up a very steep stairs but the restaurant has a bit of character, is generally busy and the menu is sufficiently varied to provide ample choice. I usually find it hard to pass their bruschetta as a starter and their pizzas and pastas are always tempting.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“italian meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Enjoyed my mushroom pasta, lovely n hot.my sister had chicken in a sauce but was offered chips with it.it didn, t go, pasta would have been a much better choice. A bit cramped and the staff were very busy..would go back just not at a busy period.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Seven of my friends and I recently dined here and had a very enjoyable time. I had the Thai Fettuccine which was very tasty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Most ignorant waiter I have ever encountered!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Went here for my birthday- firstly there was a mix up with our table- i pointed out to the waiter they had mixed us up with another table and he said to me, "so?" I didn't even receive an apology and we were left cramped-12 people at a table for 8! Service was dreadful from this waiter - cannot remember his name, (tall thin dark guy who thinks he is handsome!) his ignorance and lack of customer service skills ruined our night. I got 'duck' which was presented like a rat on the plate- have never seen anything like it in my life! will never go back to this restaurant because of that *sshole.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Colosseo Italian Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to IL Colosseo Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IL Colosseo Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.