We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September morning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Tours

Viking Tours
Quayside | Athlone Castle, Athlone, Ireland
0862621136
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come back 1,200 years and join the Vikings on a replica Viking Ship. Cruise up the River Shannon to Lough Ree (1hr 15min) or down river to the monastic settlement and round tower of Clonmacnoise (1hr 30min one way). Experience the religous and Viking history attached to this area. Hear live commentry on Viking hoardes, on the beauty of the river, its flora, fauna, bird and fish life. Fun and excitement for all the family...Departs from Athlone Castle and tickets are available on board.
Athlone, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“September morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I have a wonderful trip on the Viking Tour on a misty September morning, that cleared to a wonderful sunny day like an Indian Summer. The tour was made all the more memorable by the wonderful commentary on the Flora and Fauna by Michael who owns and runs the Viking Tour. A trip on the Majestic Shannon on the Viking Tour should be first on your check list.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    42
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A nice enough trip up the river.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

You get a great view of the river from the seating provided. There are some outside seating but with the occasional shower the covered section kept us dry. Captain kept the facts and information flowing the whole trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Brilliant tour. Beautiful views and a very relaxing trip up the shannon. I brought my nephew with me and he lived it too so its great for both adults and children.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great experience for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Second time to take the Viking experience boat trip. Did this for Fathers Day and although my husband is actually from Athlone, we learned so much more information about Athlone on this trip that we would do this again. Michael is a great guide and the kids had great fun "steering" the boat. Nice to have tea and coffee and also bought the wine.... So many different people on the boat, all ages but all enjoying the info and the views. Length of time perfect, hope to do the Clonmacnoise trip soon....

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A truly amazing experience for any age”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I have thought about going on Viking ship many times before finally going as I have a fear of water but Micheal the gentleman who runs the ship really puts everybody at ease . It was a wonderful afternoon on the river Shannon out to clonmanoise I truly enjoyed myself along with my elderly parents and my young son it is an excursion for any age thank you Micheal

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viking Tours also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Viking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.