We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great early valentines!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Athlone to your Saves list
Sheraton Athlone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great early valentines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here for two nights B&B after winning a magazine competition and was not dissapointed. Had a deep muscle massage which was amazing and ate in the restaurant on one night, set menu was really good value. Was upgraded complimentary to a 8th floor tower room which was perfect to look out at Athlone town. No problem from start to finish, parking ticket valeted on checking out and this hotel is bang in the middle of the town!

Room Tip: Tower room all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    274
    86
    32
    14
See reviews for
205
415
36
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

What can I say, booked well in advance got the room I wanted the purple penthouse on the 11th floor amazing the room is huge if you want that wow factor for your partner this is the room my wife knew nothing about the room is booked and thought we were staying in a similar room to our last stay but OMG WOW WOW WOW, she loved it see pic posted

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had our wedding reception in the Sheraton Hotel in Athlone.
From start to finish, it was an amazing experience. The hotel is gorgeous, the food is fantastic and the service is wonderful. The bridal suite is over two levels and is out of this world! The staff couldn't do enough to please. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Fourth or fifth time to stay at this hotel over last five years, usually for one to two night breaks and it just never disappoints. Staff very helpful, rooms well maintained and decent size. Very central to all attractions, restaurants, shopping.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

From the large twin rooms to the multi equipped (beautiful) bathroom, this is a quality hotel. All the modern facilites you could ask in the centre of town. Carpark free which is always an added bonus. Breakfast was top class, and service was always friendly.
Will definilty be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We has an excellent night away in the Sheraton with our family group of 19 people. The rooms were excellent as was the dinner. There was great choice on the menu and the children were able to have half portions of adult meals which was brilliant. The food was really good with excellent choices for all. The wine menu was excellent too and good value in particular the house wines. The swimming pool was also great as well as the spa. It is also very conveniently situated to the shops and the discount voucher for the shops was great. All the staff were excellent and very attentive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you to you and your family for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel. Thank you also for taking the time to provide a review of your experience, your opinion is very important to us and it is wonderful to have received such positive feedback.

I am delighted to read that your group enjoyed some precious time together as a family while staying with us. It has been a pleasure to host so many Gatherings of families, friends and colleagues throughout the last year of The Gathering. We have been particularly busy with groups such as your own, being very centrally located here in Ireland’s Lakelands and Inlands Waterways Region.

It is good to know that you enjoyed our exclusive Platinum Club discount initiative for residents visiting the Athlone Towncentre Shopping Centre, this has been a source of great feedback from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed for the weekend with a line dancing group. The whole experience was delightful. Only one point which has to be addressed. The dance floor was makeshift and wasn't really suitable for our purpose, but we were told that will be addressed next year.
The staff was very friendly and efficient. I only drink Paulaner or Water and my drink wasn't available in the function room but the waiter flew downstairs got a few bottles and even the right glass for my drink.
The room was spacious, clean and comfortable.
I just hope that the dance floor issue will be resolved next year so we will have an even better experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear “IrlandErlebrnis”,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay at our hotel and for providing such a positive review of your experience with us.

It was a great pleasure to share your feedback with the team here in the hotel.

Thank you for the feedback on our dance floor and having reviewed it with your group’s organizer over the weekend we will have that matter resolved for you if we are fortunate to have you return next year.
The aspect of our service which draws the most positive feedback lies in our dedicated and friendly team of associates. You are very kind to recognize their efforts on Tripadvisor and I would like to thank you on their behalf.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone very soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan
General Manager
Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Athlone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.