We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Room with Grand Bathroom, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Athlone to your Saves list
Sheraton Athlone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newton, MA
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Comfortable Room with Grand Bathroom, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Originally I had booked for one night only but then added a second, and the original room type was not available. The hotel happily and easily arranged it so that we would not have to change rooms, and we were able to have both nights at the better room type (and also given an upgrade as we are Starwood Gold).

The room was very large, very nicely appointed, extremely comfortable Sweet Sleeper bed. The bathroom is terrific. We have no need for a tub so always prefer a shower, but this bathroom had both. I'm in love with the TV or radio speakers in the bathroom so I'm not missing my program while in the shower. Plenty of counter and shelf space in bathroom for toiletries and personal items, and good space in closets as well.

The hotel is an easy walk across the bridge to the Castle, restaurants and pubs and the new art gallery along the banks of the Shannon. Our room didn't have a Shannon view, but I'm sure those are nice.

We didn't eat in the hotel since Athlone has many excellent restaurants, but all the common areas looked nice. The hotel (and car park) are directly connected to the mall, so that is very convenient. Athlone has an excellent, central location and would make a good midway point on a tour of Ireland.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear “Oldhousegirl”,

I would like to thank you most sincerely on behalf of myself and the team here at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel for choosing to stay with us and for providing such a positive review of your experience.

As a valued Gold member of our Starwood Preferred Guest loyalty programme I would also like to thank you on behalf of everyone at Starwood Hotels and Resorts for your repeat custom.

It is wonderful that you found our rooms to be spacious and well appointed and I look forward to sharing your feedback with Anne Marie and her team in our accommodation department.

It seems that you took time to enjoy many of the wonderful activities, old and new, to be found here in Athlone and the Lakelands region and I do hope that you have the opportunity to return to Ireland again in the future.


Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    274
    86
    32
    14
See reviews for
205
415
36
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maynooth, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with well appointed rooms and is good value for such quality. We did not have food so cannot comment on that. Staff are friendly though the reception staff spoke with such raised voices that it felt as if they were addressing a hall and not one person. Bar staff were really friendly and not a bit pretentious which often goes with a chain like Sheraton. I would definitely stay here again. However, our room though lovely in itself, was overlooked by other rooms and faced down to the adjacent shopping mall. i would ask for better view next time.

Room Tip: check your view if staying more than one night and you are in early in the day or you might be restr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I spent a weekend in this hotel recently and it was a family celebration so we booked 3 rooms - 2 doubles and one family room.
The hotel is in the centre of the town and the main shopping centre is next door. they share a car park.
The check in was very fast and efficient and all staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
The rooms were spacious and clean ad the family room was large enough for 2 adults 2 children and a baby.
We had breakfast and an evening meal on one night and the food was very good.
we did not have any spa treatments because we thought they were a little expensive in the current economic climate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We went to the restaurant in this hotel for a meal. The staff were very nice, friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The restaurant was very busy. Our food was very fast coming out which is great and it was lovely and portions very generous. I can't fault this restaurant at all.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Weekend stay in Deluxe room 8th floor in the tower,
Room was great size floor to ceiling windows on curve with electric curtains
Fantastic views of Athlone.
Had evening meal which was lovely & staff helpful
Points for hotel...... Bar staff do not know how to make cocktails & need to be shown...but they were all very friendly

Room Tip: deluxe in tower worth the extra upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here recently for two nights. Not told about facilities or even asked did we enjoy our stay. Pints in the in main bar where shocking. Asked for a pint of Coors light filled half the class and said they must change the keg and when this was done they just topped up the glass that was half full and sitting there for ten minutes all as I watched...my partners pint was bad too. Very cental hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear “Pinklady8727”

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your experience and for choosing to stay with us at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Your opinion is very important to us and I would like to apologise on behalf of myself and the team regarding your experience at the front desk and in our Sheraton Bar.

The service provided to you in our Sheraton Bar as described would be completely against our normal standards and I am very sorry for your experience. I have reviewed your feedback with Abdalla and Daniel who will implement training for consistency among the team. We would welcome the opportunity to apologise personally and if you are in the hotel again please do ask to speak with one of us.

Our Front Office team consistently provide a level of hospitality and attentiveness which exceeds our guest’s expectations and has provided us with some wonderful feedback. Your satisfaction with our services is genuinely important to us and following your review we are reminded that we are only as good as the most recent guest experience we provide. We would like to thank you for highlighting this to us and giving us the opportunity to improve.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Athlone soon and having the opportunity to recover your confidence in our hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed for 1night bed breakfast and dinner. The room in the tower was wonderful with views of the Shannon and town. Room was very comfortable with terrific bathroom and the heat was just right, not too hot as some hotel rooms are. Dinner was excellent we both had lamb and it was cooked to perfection, service was also excellent. It was a Sunday night stay and hotel was quiet which suited us but the food and service was great. Bar service was also good with very nice pleasant efficient staff. Breakfast was the best we have had in any hotel in a long time,great selection of fresh food very well presented and again staff were excellent. Top marks to all staff and management we will be back for a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: Get a room in the Tower, big spacious and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear “Bawnogue”,

On behalf of the management and associates here at the hotel I would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our property. It was a great pleasure to share your feedback at our weekly meeting.

I was delighted to read and share your feedback in relation tour breakfast offering in our La Provence Restaurant as this has been an area of focus for us in recent months.

Abdallah, Juraj and their teams in The Sheraton Bar and La Provence Restaurant, as well as Kevin and his team of chefs in the kitchen were delighted to read your feedback and I would like to thank you for recognizing their efforts.

Once again thank you for your review. We hope to see you back at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Athlone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.