We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel
Main Street, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here on 5th & 6th October 2012. It was nothing special as the room and facilities were fairly basic.
Nice comfortable bed, but privacy was somewhat lacking with frosted glass doors to the adjoining bathroom / toilet.
Only real disappointment was the attitude of the receptionist when we sat in the lounge for about an hour with a drink watching the TV. She was chatting away to a male who was obviously known to her. The lounge was quiet and there was no-one else was in the room.
We asked her if she could change channel on the TV for us, which seemed a bit of an effort for her and she seemed reluctant to do so. When she did accede, the sound was barely audible and her constant chat level with her friend overpowered the sound of the TV, so customer service seemed to come second at this place.
The bar was a bit spartan and not particularly comfortable, and the drinks were very expensive.
Food was nothing startling with only a limited choice, however the place was otherwise "OK"
A local Matchmaking festival was being held at this time, so it was quite noisy through to the early hours of the morning.
Wont be dashing back there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    26
    4
    9
See reviews for
8
36
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I visited Lisdoonvarna with a friend for two nights during the Matchmakers' Festival, where legends abound of true love being found. The Imperial is a faded lady of a previous era, but at less than $80 USD per night for a single room during the Festival, it's not that bad a deal. Its location is prime - right on the main street, next door to the Matchmakers' Pub and within an easy walk to probably all the other likely joints.

True, the place is dated, but it has some amenities - coffee/tea and kettle in room, hair dryer and TV in room, Wi-fi, and a restaurant that serves only breakfast and dinner in restricted hours. The food ranged from very acceptable (at breakfast) to somewhat disappointing (at dinner), and the dinner menu was rather limited. The little cafe a few doors up the street is a great choice for lunch, however.

In fairness, I must add that the staff worked very hard to please. The restaurant manager did all he could to make things right when our dinner fell short of expectations, and all the inquiring emails I exchanged with the staff (ie, how do you get there from Dublin? etc) were answered by warm and helpful reception staff. Though there are no ATMs in the town, they were able to charge my room to the card I used for booking and there were no problems whatsoever.

More about the facilities, for those who care: the bathroom is well appointed, towels, blankets and pillows are furnished aplenty, and the place is scrupulously clean. A problem in my friend's room with her TV was fixed immediately upon request; we had no other concerns or special requests during our stay.

Take note, however - if you plan to be out very late for the craic, you will have to knock on the window to alert the night attendant to let you in - your room key will not get you into the building. It's a bit like going past the housemother to get in the dorms back in the old days, but that was a minor concern for me.

If all you need is a clean place to lay your head and a decent bath/shower, you will find the place very adequate. The lobby is quite attractive in a dated sort of way, but a big-screen tv may distract you. The rooms were decorated unflatteringly but had great bones. Noise was a minor issue, but I was there during the festival.. ergo.. noise. When that town is quiet, it's QUIET, so if you're not there in September, noise will not be an issue. You cannot beat the location, and you probably cannot beat the price (festival deal was 3 weekday nights for 150 euro), so it's worth consideration.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main street are quieter. My single room had two twin beds and plenty of room fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The rooms in this hotel are grand, the bathroom is a good size with alot of complimentary products. There didn't appear to be much insulation between the rooms and the corridors outside unfortunately and a sleep in in the morning is out of the question. It's a good location for when you are in Lisdoonvarna, not that the place is very big anyway! The breakfast in the morning, full Irish was nothing special to be honest. We found the staff polite. The bar seemed to be the quietest of the bars we visited for the Festival. We found €60 for a single room for a Monday night a little expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here last weekend, which was during the matchmaking festival and to say the least this hotel really rip people off!! First of all, they charge you full payment on arrival , which in our case was €600 for a three night stay B & B ...(they probably know they would get plenty of complaints otherwise) The rooms are small and in need of a total re-vamp, small portable TV with rubbish channels and bad picture, and a glass panel bathroom door ...you certainly don't have much privacy when using the bathroom!! Breakfast is served from 8 till 10, which is a bit early seeing as the entertainment in all the pubs goes on till the early hours! The breakfast itself is a bit on the skimpy side, the waitress just asks if you want the full irish, so if you want cereal or anything else you have to ask!!! Apart from the 5 STAR prices for whats really nothing better than a basic B & B...the hotel is clean and the staff are generally friendly and helpfull......but we definitely won't be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

room was big beds comfy food nice staff very plesant hotel very clean lisdoonvarna only small village was perfect for tours to galway and lahinch and ennis all lovely places to visit we were there at the start of the annual matchmaking festival there was music in every hotel and bars it was fantastic

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in the Imperial Hotel this weekend and the same last year. Great value for money. Rooms may be dated but the bed clothes were spotless, loads of space in the room. Great location. Great hotel to stay in for the festival.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

When the two large tour busses of German retirees came in... we should have known. This hotel caters to the frugal central European clientelle, and it shows.
The Room - There is no central air, and the tiny porthole at the window does not cool off the room, which stayed conistently between 80-85 all night. It got hotter as the night progressed. Adding to the challenge is that the tiny room with two beds and a byzantine walkway between them to the door (you can't open the bathroom or closet door if the front or other doors are open) has curtains which protect you from a street view. Sadly, if you close the curtains, the room does not cool. But not to fear! The rooms on the second floor are brightly lit by street lights, so bright that the curtains cannot keep the light out. Street noises from late night pubs, the all night fast food place across the street, and the myriad tour busses will keep you awake most of the night and up again early.
The bedding is lumpy and old, and they use powerful bleaches in their laundry that cause skin irritation and feel like little bugs are biting you all night. The walls are thin, and as shown in the picture, there are holes in the wall that they have neatly repaired with duct tape. The decor is circa late 1970s, and the bathroom has a singularly small and "dulled" look to it.
They do have outlets in the room, and a small closet with hangers is built into the walls. A large cabinet/shelving system lines one wall, providing a modicrum of storage. So it's not all bad.
Most perplexing is the use of elevators, but including flights of half stairs on the same floors. You can't use roller bags without still lifting your luggage across these stairs.
Overall, it rates somewhere below a red roof inn in the US and sleeping in a lean-to. We got no sleep on either night, ruining this portion of our visit to Ireland.
We had dinner and breakfast here as well, and it is also horrible. The bread, preserved and perhaps frozen mini rolls are placed on each plate an hour before dining, so that your bread may have hardened for 2-3 hours before you eat. The stew was barely edible, being chewy, overcooked and bland. Ice cream was scooped from a supermarket container, while the "eclair" was a puff pastry with chocolate sweet cream in the center. The Fried fish appeared to be fried in lard with a slimy batter that captured a tasteless filet. I left sick and yet eager to eat anything to remove the taste.
Their breakfast gave three courses, one of the first choices was for "pure grapefruit juice" as opposed to cereals or porridge. The porridge is not your traditional Irish pooridge but a horrible catastrophy that resembled soy milk with watery rice pudding. They overcooked the eggs, served tough, mass produced mini breads, and their bacon was tough and greasy.
After two meals here, I literally could not stomache any additional food. We went to the Rathbone and the Roadside Pub for better fare.
The front desk staff was grumpy, iritable, and short... which was surprising given how friendly and welcoming the Irish people had been at every other place we'd been to. This hotel seemed to get things wrong at every turn.
One bright spot, the valet/young gentleman who helped load and unload from the tour busses was energetic, welcoming, and stood out far beyond that of other staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street, which is loud, bright and active until quite late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Main Street, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is located in Lisdoonvarna, just a 10-minute drive from the Cliffs of Moher. It offers en suite bedrooms, a restaurant and a bar with live music most nights. Bedrooms at the Imperial feature satellite TVs, hair-dryers and telephones. Tea and coffee making facilities are also available and there is free Wi-Fi in public areas of the hotel. The restaurant offers international cuisine and traditional Irish breakfasts are served daily. There is a large lobby area which is adjoined by a sunny conservatory. The Burren National Park is a 15-minute drive and there are several golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Lisdoonvarna, Ireland - The Burren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.