We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exellent location , great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hydro Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hydro Hotel to your Saves list
The Hydro Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hydro Hotel, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“exellent location , great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel is really good, a little dated, but thats all the negative remarks I have for the hydro hotel. It,s absolutely spotless and the staff have great pride in their work. We arrived late by accident for our evening meal sitting, when the staff were tidying up. And without the slightest hesitation, we were made feel immediately welcome, and were shown to our table. And enjoyed a lovely unhurried meal. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially if you like to relax, but at the same time child friendly. Great location, and great value.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHydro, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay which is highly valued. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we highly appreciate your comments on our staff and customer service. Our staff members are very commited to their work and we try every day to create a good working atmosphere which is reflected to the outside and to our guests.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    44
    12
    10
    7
See reviews for
16
34
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Well, where to begin. Arrived and at first glance thought that this would be an alright stay. Rooms were cold and harsh on the senses. Lino floors reminded me of a back packers and with long narrow, sometimes dark corridors to get to our room for the night made my initial thoughts slowly come to the realization we could be in for quite the journey here.

Dinner in the hotel was something out of this world. I ordered the Turkey, which came with a piece of grilled pineapple, some pineapple juice from a can running around the plate and a small spoon full (one mouth full) of warm coleslaw. Steer well clear of the food.

Limited WiFi in lobby and none in bedroom. Would not wish this stay upon anyone.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHydro, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We always take the guest feedback very seriously and act on it immediately as it gives us an opportunity to continuously improve. Stating that we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your last stay with us. Due to weather changes during the past few weeks we had to balance the heating in the rooms which caused daily and hourly monitoring from our side by switching off/on the heating. We regret for not being able to receive your concerns while staying with us and to find solution for you immediately.

We also regret for not being able to speak to you over dinner and make your dining experience more pleasant. We always try to meet the needs of our guests and go extra mile to satisfy those needs in either providing extra food supplements or main course adjustments.

We are continually upgrading and improving our amenities and services at the hotel and WiFi upgrade to the rooms is on our drawing board. We look forward to announce the upgrade once completed.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and feel free to contact us back anytime.

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Rang this hotel to book a break away with Groupon Voucher ......and was not accommodated in any shape or form ...I had my dates in front of me and could not get two consecutive nights together... Why does this hotel bother to say its available for breaks when you cannot be accommodated....shouldn't be allowed....it did specify Limited Availability but I was met with NO AVAILABILITY and was told I could look for a refund from Groupon. YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED.....

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHydro, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We regret you were not able to book the desired dates with us through Groupon offer. We have received an extremely high response and many bookings. We understand your situation, however we strongly recommend to check availability directly with a hotel and pre book desired dates before buying a voucher on line.

We would be glad to welcome you to stay with us at any other time in future and we wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very warm welcome no matter how late you arrive.
Staff so helpful and always happy
Rooms are clean and comfortable.
Location Great views.
Restaurant service is great and a good Bar Prices very good for a Hotel.
Lovely spacious lounges 2 with large tvs One smaller one with lovely views.
Large car park.
If you are visiting Cliffs of Moher or limerick this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Recently stayed here. Lovely experience very quiet. Staff quite & courteous. Breakfast good .Rooms clean & comfortable. The only down side is if the hotel was busy it maybe noisy as it was easy here people walking in the rooms overhead. A good base for travelling around west Clare.
Would recommend - good value

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have nothing to say but good things about this hotel. After a disastrous experience at a nearby hostel, my friends and I pulled into the Hydro Hotel late hoping for a room. The service was fantastic. A room was found to accommodate our needs quickly and the staff help was wonderful. We loved our room! Spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great in the morning as well, wonderful service in the restaurant. Like I said, I can't say anything but good things about this place, I definitely recommend! Great location to stay if you're visiting the Cliffs of Moher. If I ever make it back to Ireland I will absolutely stay at the Hydro again! :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This Hotel is in a lovely postion at the end of the main street in the village. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the service from all the staff is exceptional. We found the hotel staff more than helpful and anything we asked about was immediately sorted out for us. The food was very nice and we always enjoyed the cooked breakfast in the morning, a very good choice and very tasty. Evening meals were also of a good standard.

Each evening there was music and dancing on in the main dance hall and bar area, from 6pm until 12pm and the bands were very enjoyable and very busy.

I would definitely go back to this hotel if I was staying in Lisdoonvarna, also the area is ideal for touring around the Burren and many tourist attractions plus boat trips within 10 kms of Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in 400 to 410 are very quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hydro Hotel

Address: Hydro Hotel, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Hotel Lisdoonvarna
The Hydro Hotel Lisdoonvarna, Ireland - The Burren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hydro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.