We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Accommodation and Very Good Quality Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Honey Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wild Honey Inn to your Saves list
Wild Honey Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kincora Road, Lisdoonvarna none, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Lisdoonvarna B&B and Inns
Kilkenny
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Accommodation and Very Good Quality Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

Myself and my partner went for three days break to Lisdoonvarna as we wanted to be close to the Cliffs of Moher, Caves etc. and chose the Wild Honey Inn because of the glowing reports of the Guest House on Trip Advisor. It is a beautiful Guest House, our room was beautifully decorated and we had a lovely patio area where we could sit outside in a small garden. The food was absolutely delicious and the owners, Aidan and Kate, and staff were really friendly and down to earth. There were so many sites and places to see in Clare that were only about 7 miles away, Lisdoonvarna is a perfect place to stay to be near so many places to visit, and The Wild Honey Inn is a fantastic place to stay in Lisdoonvarna. I would definitely go back and would recommend the Inn to any of my family and friends. It really made our break. Best of luck to Aidan and Kate.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    14
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
18
88
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights and felt very relaxed the moment we arrived. I could feel the tension drain away from my shoulders as soon as my head touched the pillow. Our room was at ground level and as a result we had our own little patio area that allowed you to wander in to the main garden, which is a lovely place to sit and watch and listen to the birds. The room was lovely and bright and so clean and comfortable. The Hotel was recently bought and completely renovated by Kate and Aidan and really is a hidden gem. The restaurant was doing brisk trade each evening and no wonder as Aidan is a Chef of Distinction having previously worked in Doonbeg and Sheen Falls no less! Anyone who happens to be passing and drops in for a meal is in for a real treat that doesn't cost the earth, our meal was delicious.

The Wild Honey Inn is located close to the Burren Smokehouse and Roadside Tavern and is just outside the main street of Lisdoon and this is brilliant as it is so peaceful, yet two minutes walk away. I am sure that this Hotel will continue to prosper and when you see the amount of hard work and pride the owners and their staff take, you will agree that they deserve their success. My Wife did not want to leave and wanted to stay for another 3 nights! We will definitely be back and if you are visiting the area, a visit to see the Great Stalictite at Doolin Cave is a must. So all in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and cannot recommend the place highly enough.

Dermot & Jackie, Dublin, Ireland

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemskerk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Our experience goes very wide; nice owners (Aidan & Kathleen) and staff. Nice rooms, very well decorated with good beds. Internet can be used free! The restaurant and bar are comfortable. Diner is served with great flavours and nicely made up. The quality of the cooking is awsome and thus very professional style. Even breakfast is served with style and custom- made.
The location in the middle of the Burren- way is highly efficient for the visitors of this beautifull part of Ireland.
Last but not least we have to mention the friendly prices for this quality- stay; both hotel and restaurant are cheap, wich makes it a real 'excellent experience'.

Peter & Yvonne
the Netherlands

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

This is an absolutely amazing hotel with so much character. The new owners Aidan and Kathleen have done so much already to this hotel, I would describe the resturant as top class and the food also lives up to that level. The bar is a very cosy place to be, with an open fire to relax in front of after a long day. The rooms are big and luxurious with an en suite bathroom and if you are lucky enough to stay on the ground floor you will have your own private garden with chairs to sit out. All in all this is a great hotel and I would recommend it to anyone vsiting the burren area. All the best to Aidan and Kathleen for the future. Pedro and Alise.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

New owners Aidan and Kathleen are changing the landscape of this hotel. We stayed here due to the listing in 'Lonely Planet - Ireland'. Thankfully we were not guided by previous reviews on this or any other site. They are changing the name to 'Wild Honey Inn'. The exterior has just been painted. They have commenced renovating the interior and their attention to creating a lovely hotel is evident. Large dining room overlooking the rear garden. Bar area was nearly completed when we stayed there. Our room was at the lower level at the rear of the hotel and was a good size with a double bed and a single with french door access to a sweet little patio and ensuite bathroom with a bath. Aidan is an acomplished 5 star chef so you can be guaranteed of quality food. We were very excited by their plans for the hotel and wish them all the best for a fantastic future. Don't pass this one up, you won't be disappointed. Anthony and Linda, Brisbane, Australia.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Honey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Honey Inn

Address: Kincora Road, Lisdoonvarna none, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Honey Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Wild Honey Inn you will find welcoming friendly staff. Comfortable accommodation and great food. This is a family run business in the heart of the Burren region in County Clare. A great place to stay when visiting the North Clare region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Wild Honey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Honey Inn Lisdoonvarna, Ireland - The Burren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Honey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.