We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet with lovely food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ross Lake House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ross Lake House Hotel to your Saves list
Ross Lake House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rosscahill, Oughterard, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oughterard
Buxton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quiet with lovely food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for three nights at this very pleasant hotel. The bedroom looked a little tired and certainly much smaller than the ones shown on the website but was comfortable enough even though the television was not worth watching. There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, no shampoo only shower gel in the bathroom and WiFi only available in the public lounge. The food, however, was amazing with both Joe and Henry being very attentive. It was lovely to be waited on in such a friendly yet efficient manner. We do, however, think that the rates are quite high especially for the room we were allocated, considering what is on offer. I'm glad we stayed here this time but would think twice before returning, as the facilities in the other hotels at which we stayed were far better and we paid less for each of our three nights breaks.

Room Tip: Check when booking to find out which room your are being allocated as there doesn't appear to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    21
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
carrickfergus
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Wwe were a bit disappointed by Ross Lake House. Firstly it is misnamed, as it is about three miles from Ross Lake, surrounded by dense trees and undergrowth and has no vista of any description. And it is a pity that a passably handsome house has been disfigured by the addition of a thoroughly awful function suite which was rendered redundant as the Celtic Tiger lost its claws and the wedding business collapsed..

We were greeted enthusiastically by Henry Reid and escorted to a very pleasant junior suite for which we had managed to negotiate a very good rate. Maybe that is why he charged us 6 euro for a cup of afternoon tea with no biscuits? Henry does a very good Basil Fawlty impression as when, in a loud voice, he told a quartet of Australians, who did not understand the dinner booking routine that " they had not been listening to him"

We were disappointed by the food. I am quite convinced that the breast of duckling and chicken kiev came out of the back of a delivery van and that the chocolate profiteroles came out of a packet. Breakfast was also below par for an Irish country house hotel.

I think that Ross Lake House has passed its peak and is now gently sinking into mediocraty.

Room Tip: None of the rooms has any view to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

My fiancée and I decided to spend a few days in Ireland before flying back to the USA. He found this place online and we decided to give it a try. This hotel is exactly what we were looking for : amazing views , extremely friendly staff , soft beds and one of the most fantastic meals I have ever had! ( and I have had meals in many fancy places around the world) If you are looking for a romantic gateway or a relaxing place then this is your place. Completely worth the price you pay for it so don't let bad reviews fool you :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very comfortable room in beautiful building in beautiful setting, parking right up to the door, excellent food and service, room immaculate clean, owner very knowledgeable about the area. Had two nights here. Would definitely stay again. Worth every penny of high-ish cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I had the most amazing two nights in Ross Lake Hotel.
The welcome, the service and the food was five star.
The room was clean, spacious and well decorated, the bed was exceptionally comfortable.
The dining experience in the gorgeous formal dining was so lovely. The breakfast was superb
with lovely fresh fruit and wonderful homemade granola, and hot food cooked to order.
We so enjoyed lovely chats with the other guests in the drawing room after dinner, and had the
best irish cooffee ever, made by Joe who won the best irish coffee at Foynes few years ago.
Ross Lake Hotel is charming and classy, and sincere thanks to the owners Henry and Elaine
Will be back. Kath/Fin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Faded grandeur really . Stuck back in 1990s when it had its last makeover, only 4 tv stations despite 8 advertised. Hair dryer and bathroom sink not working. Shower door leaking water to the floor. No wi if except in part of main house. Food was actually the redeeming feature at dinner with breakfast very very ordinary. Feels as if owners who re very nice have just run out of the energy needed to keep this sort of place up to standard. Too many non Irish one nighters who perhaps just couldn't get into other manor house hotels in the area. Not a bad wine list with very welcome selection of half bottles. Also is it possible this is the last hotel in Ireland not to have heard that women couples exist and when they book a double room it's not a mistake - too 1990 really given Civil Partnership law in Ireland since 2011 - needs modernisation on many levels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Ross Lake House Hotel in the west of Ireland is a rare treat for those seeking exceptionally beautiful accommodations, a tranquil setting, and superb service. This was our fourth trip to Ireland so we have experienced many B& B's and hotels. Two nights here was not enough! The well appointed home is formal yet we found it a relaxed place to lounge after wonderful dinners .Henry and Elaine are real treasures as well. Henry joined us on our search for local ancestors and volunteered to help us locate an old family burial ground nearby- mission accomplished! What more can you ask for from a host? We hope to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ross Lake House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Lake House Hotel

Address: Rosscahill, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ross Lake House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ross Lake House Hotel in Galway is a splendid 19th Century Georgian House. Built in 1850, this charming Galway hotel is formerly an estate house of the landed gentry, who prized it for its serenity. Set amidst rambling woods and rolling lawns, it is truly a haven of peace and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ross Lake House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ross Lake Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ross Lake House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.