We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, lovely location, super hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mountain View Guesthouse to your Saves list
Mountain View Guesthouse
Aughnanure, Oughterard, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, lovely location, super hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mountain View! We had a family room--although it was not huge, it was not too small. The room was very clean and nicely decorated with very comfortable beds. Patricia is a very professional and gracious host, her cousin is very kind and funny, and her husband and son were extremely helpful when we had a flat tyre! (As an aside, if you ever have a flat tyre in the Oughterard area, Tommy Tuck is the man to see! Great, fast, friendly service.) The breakfasts were great. Our previous B&B was in the middle of a town and was noisy at night--Mountain View is a few km outside of town, so it was wonderfully quiet--we slept extremely well. As one review noted, there is not really a "mountain" view, but it is set in a lovely countryside area. Between the comfortable room, the yummy breakfasts, and the extreme kindness of the hosts, I could have stayed there much longer than our 3 nights. Bonus: The WiFi reception and speed was probably the best of all 7 places we stayed on this trip. (The only downside for us was that the nearby town of Oughterard itself is limited in its dining options, and they are all pretty expensive!) As for the Mountain View itself, it was wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    8
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top of the World, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a lovely guesthouse,the room was lovely and spacious.we were very happy with the room.it had WiFi and nice tv. The price was reasonable and it was in a good location. The owner was very friendly and the breakfast was tasty too.overall I would recommend this as a good place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A nice and clean b and b, quiet, lovely host and good breakfast but a bit ordinary for us.

We expected to be in the mountains, or at least the countryside with a view of mountains but were disappointed that the location was just off the main road.

The room was a bit dark due to the windows being built into the roof and for ventilation we needed to open the window in the bathroom and leave the door open.

Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

PROS:
1) the hosts were very good.
2) food was good.
3) the location, although a bit out of the town has its own charm.

CONS:

1) stayed is a triple room. We felt the room was a bit small and we felt crowded. The bathroom is big though.
The room would have been nice as a double bed one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Did not want to stay right in Galway, so this was a great spot for a night over. Room was clean, we had a twin and queen bed. Patricia very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was fantastic, with our choice of main meal. The views in the yard are incredible. The gift shop in the village is outstanding with a great selection at reasonable prices!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We found the hosts Richard and Patricia very friendly and through internet booking we were offered a very good rate for a three night stay. The room we had was clean, quiet and comfortable, but cramped for two people with luggage, and cold at night when the radiators were turned off. Our room had no special view, just the garden and parked cars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We drove from Spiddal via Clifden, Connemara National Park and Kylemore Abbey and easily found Mountain View Guesthouse. We were greeted very warmly by Patricia and Richard and enjoyed some freshly brewed coffee and home made scones. Our room was a good size and very clean and warm. Breakfast was marvellous. Patricia and Richard were excellent hosts who recommended nearby restaurants and pubs, all within easy walking distance. They also gave good advice on what to see in the area. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Guesthouse

Address: Aughnanure, Oughterard, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View is a family run 4* Guesthouse set in an idyllic location at the start of Connemara and just 20 minute drive to Galway City. All our rooms are en-suite and each decorated to a very high standard. Facilities include TV, Direct dial telephone, Hair Dryer, Tea/Coffee making facilities and Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain View Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.