We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels those knots unravel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mountain View Guesthouse to your Saves list
Mountain View Guesthouse
Aughnanure, Oughterard, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Ennis, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Feels those knots unravel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

You couldn't pick a better place from which to explore Galway/Connemara. The area is gorgeous, the accommodation peaceful, clean and comfortable, the welcome as warm as could be.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    8
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Mountain View Guesthouse is a very comfortable bed and breakfast located near the village of Oughterard, an easy drive (17 miles) outside of Galway on your way toward Connemara. We used it as a base for exploring Co. Galway. Our family room was very comfortable and clean with excellent beds and linens. The bathroom was large, clean, and had abundant hot water. We enjoyed an excellent full Irish breakfast with additional cereal, fruit, juice, and rolls on a breakfast bar.
My son accidentally left a personal bag and our hostess, Patricia, promptly mailed it to us. We look forward to our next trip to Ireland and will definitely stay at Mountain View again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

A great place to stay! We received a very warm welcome on arrival and were very well looked after. The breakfasts were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend and will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this B&B in 2008 and the excellent service has only gotten better since then. From the moment i arrived to the moment i left owners Patricia and Dickie made me feel right at home. The rooms are quite and cosy with plenty of storage, tv, en suite, and complimentary tea and coffee. The B&B about 500m off the busy Galway to Clifden road but you can't hear the traffic from your room. It is only 20 mins from Galway city, 2 mins from the village of Oughterard and ideally located if you want to explore Connemara. I was taking part in a local marathon on both occasions i was staying and Patricia was more than helpful any special requests i had with regards an early breakfast (cereals, bread, coffee). I would recommend Mountain View without hesitation and certainly hope to stay there in the future. DOS///

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Wonderful B&B. We were graciously upgraded to two rooms instead of the one we booked. With 2 young adult children, this was a nice break for our family and not something Patricia had to offer. The owners are very helpful and accommodating answering our many questions about what to do and where to go for dinner etc. Breakfast was very plentiful and the eggs were especially good. Excellent location for seeing the Connemara mine, Galway and other beautiful sites. We can't express our appreciation enough for the beautiful setting, clean accommodations and warm reception. You really can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We arrived here late in the day without a booking - we had been looking in vain for a particular Lodge. Funny how these things happen! The pleasure of finding Mountain View prompted a two night stay.
This is a warm, welcoming place from which to explore Connemara. We received the benefits of the tail end of a hurricane, and returning to a warm comfortable room was a delicious luxury for two drowned rats.
Breakfast and hospitality are top of the tree, and the location perfect for exploration. Highly appreciated and recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelvetrano, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We found this b&b by chance.
The welcome was great, rooms very clean and well furnished, the breakfast plentiful and very good; you can choose between the English and continental breakfast.
Patricia is also very kind and helped us on our journey.
Good location for visiting Galway, located twenty minutes by car.
Recommended

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Guesthouse

Address: Aughnanure, Oughterard, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View is a family run 4* Guesthouse set in an idyllic location at the start of Connemara and just 20 minute drive to Galway City. All our rooms are en-suite and each decorated to a very high standard. Facilities include TV, Direct dial telephone, Hair Dryer, Tea/Coffee making facilities and Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain View Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.