We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glengowla Mines

Glengowla Mines
Glengowla, Oughterard, Ireland
+353 91552360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Attractions in Oughterard
Type: Mines, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Buried beneath the Connemara Mountain lies a way of life long abandoned and almost forgotten just waiting for you to explore! Let the team at Glengowla Mines lead you on a journey of discovery of how lead and silver were mined from the roots of the Connemara Mountains in the 1800’s. The constant dripping of water, the ‘miners breath’ and if you are brave enough - a moment of darkness will set the scene! Delve into the depths of Glengowla mines where you can explore the caverns of marble studded with lead and silver. Follow the veins of copper pyrite which will lead you to the ‘miners gold’ - Galena. Marvel at the rare and beautiful crystals of quartz and fluorite. Learn of the working conditions the miners worked under before the mines closed in 1865. A firm favourite with adults and children alike is to pan for gold and gems at our gold panning station and keep any gems you find! Not only will you enjoy guided tours of the mines, Glengowla is also home to a seismograph which is part of Ireland’s National Seismic Network. See how the seismograph works and how the impact of earthquakes can shake the earth world wide! Glengowla is also working farm where you can visit the Connemara Ponies, meet the Bob the sheep dog, pet the lambs and for advanced group bookings sheep dog herding demonstrations and turf cutting demonstrations are available. Also take the opportunity to enjoy a leisurely stroll through the farm along the old Connemara railway line and discover some of the local flora and fauna. Make a day of it and bring your own picnic! Also available on site: Gift Shop, Refreshments and Outdoor Seating Area, Museum & Free Car Parking.Please Note the mine is now closed for the Winter but if you like to pre book we can run a tour for your group. Mine reopens daily next March.
Madison
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The owner opened the shop for us at a time that the mine was closed. That generosity is beyond belief. His knowledge is considerable and he was extremely generous sharing and answering our questions. It was a once in a lifetime experience for a collector. Thanks so much!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    21
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Windham, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting and out of the ordinary attraction.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

My wife and I just love stopping at places like Glengowla Mines as we travel around the west of Ireland. You don’t run into the “thundering herds” of tourists, so the local people working there often have time to converse about lots of subjects regarding the local area in addition to the one you are visiting. It gives you a greater sense of rural western Ireland as it is today. That was the case when we visited Glengowla Mines and spoke with the older man in the gift shop and the young man who was the mine guide. The mine itself was also very interesting and as we took the tour with just one other couple, we had plenty of time to ask questions. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about both the mining operations, the men who has worked there as well as the geological history of the area that explained the different layers of rock visible as you moved down. Thinking what it must have been like for the men who worked down there certainly made one appreciate how much easier our lives are today.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A unique, authentic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This is an extraordinary visitor experience, unlike any I have ever experienced. The access to the actual mineface is amazing, and the presence of a guide (who was excellent by the way) really brings the experience to life. Seeing the chisels left by the workers when they were told they had to just down tools, that their jobs were gone, is particularly poignant. It is a view of Connemara's past that few would have known about, but it is compelling and the story is well told. Also the kids loved panning for "precious jewels" at the end. The staff in the gift shop were friendly and informative, and the quality of the merchandise on offer was very good, which makes a change! All of us, family of two adults, four kids, aged from 5 - 13, loved it, and would go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Historic lead and silver mine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Rstored mine you can visit and tour underground. Guided tours. Nothing dangerous or strenuous. Great day out. Located near Outhterard in Co Galway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Connemara
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My kids love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We've been to Glengowla Mines a couple of times. My kids love it, and I do too. The tour guides are friendly, informative, and prioritize safety at all times. The place has a fascinating history. The shop has something for everyone with reasonably priced items. You can also mine for small stones at Glengowla. My kids get such a kick out of mining that I have had to drag them away each time. Our school has done very successful tours to the mines as well, and everyone had a great time.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glengowla Mines also viewed

Oughterard, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Glengowla Mines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glengowla Mines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.