We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My annual slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corrib Wave House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Corrib Wave House to your Saves list
Corrib Wave House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Portacarron, Oughterard, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Northamptonshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“My annual slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

I have been frequenting the Corrib Wave for almost ten years. I visit every May, normally the third weekend in the month, whereupon the most glorious hatch of mayfly takes place - the fishing is good, the company excellent and the "craic" just as good. Aside from the obvious joy at seeing my friends again for some fishing, I would like to pass on my best wishes and thanks to Michael & Maria who run the Corrib Wave. Each year without fail they have looked after us with their warm and welcoming hospitality - The food is excellent - Breakfast sufficient to keep you going all day, packed lunches and the evenings meals of wholesome farmhouse fare. Michael also has available a small fleet of fishing boats available for day hire from the Corrib Wave's own quayside on the shores of loch Corrib. Any guest will soon get a taste of Michael's quick and dry sense of humour and love of all things piscatorial - what ever you do, do not ever ask Michael the best place or method for catching the best fish - you will only ever get one of his stock in trade comical answers back in reply. We have some excellent banter with him - our group have been after Michael's so called "recession discount" for the last few years without success. The views from the house are fantastic and it is just a short drive or ride in Jonjo's taxi into Ougherard for a few scoops. I highly recommend the Corrib Wave as do all the other guests I have seen return each year for the last ten years just as I do - long may it continue. Thanks, from Kevin, Northampton

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bolton england
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Just had a wonderful stay at this most homely of guest houses .we have stayed at this guest house for the last four years at different times of the year . maria and michael are the most helpful of hosts and nothing is to much trouble. the view from the house is spectacular and as one of our party said on first viewing "it is like utopia".the food is excellent ,all homemade.i would have no hesitation in recomending this guest house as we have done on many occasions.it is a good base to see all of connemara and beyond.

  • Liked — the friendly hosts and the view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Down, Northern Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

On arrival after a long drive, Maria, our hostess provided us with a much appreciated hot cup of tea and some buscuits. The welcome was warm and sincere. The house is situated right on the shore of Lough Corrib and is just a matter of minutes on the Galway side of Oughterard, a lovely little village. Our room was spacious and clean complete with en-suite bathroom. It had a double bed and a single and we shared with our daughter. The breakfast consists of a choice: Fruit, cheese, cereals, fruit juice, tea or coffee, toast and fresh brown (wheaten) bread and a cooked breakfast, either an Irish fry, scrambled egg on toast with bacon and or sausages or poached eggs. There is no rush to vacate the breakfast room as Maria is only to please to have a chat and advise on where best to go in the locality. On return at night Maria and her husband Michael and some of the girls are always in the living room beside an open fire, burning locally cut turf. Again you are welcome to join them for a chat about the events of the day.
Michael has eight boats to hire for fishing from his own jetty. He can also arrange for expert gillies to guide the wouldbe angler around the best parts of Corrib. On display in the house are a number of specimen catches from Corrib over the years. There are perch, pike and brown trout. Some of the trout are 14lb plus.
This house is well located for those who want to explore the sights of Co. Galway and Connemara. It is 25 minutes drive from Galway city which is worth a visit and just up the road through the village of Oughterard on the left hand side is the bridge where John Wayne proposed to Maureen O'Hara in the classic film "The Quiet Man"
All in all I would recommend this house to anyone, especially the keen anglers. I did not do any fishing on this trip as I had my wife with me, but I hope to return with some of my fellow anglers on a future occasion.

  • Liked — Homeliness
  • Disliked — There was no tea or coffee facilities in our room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

This was our first stop in Ireland. The staff was friendly and welcoming. At night it's very, very dark in the area and, therefore, extremely dark in the room. My friend and I decided to leave the light on in the bathroom and have the door just slightly ajar. Although the owner asked us not to do that (when we checked in) we were too tired to remember. A little while later, the owner called us on a phone that did not ring at all like a phone! It was a very loud buzzing sound that I thought was an alarm clock. Anyway she was pretty rude right off the bat in asking us to turn it off (I guess the noise of the fan... which was hardly a noise at all... keeps her daughter awake up stairs). Yes, I realize she asked us beforehand, but we forgot so cut us some slack. Aside from that, breakfast was very nice and it was good value for the money. Just don't leave the light on in the bathroom too long!

  • Liked — Good breakfast
  • Disliked — The owner had a little 'tude
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corrib Wave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corrib Wave House

Address: Portacarron, Oughterard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Corrib Wave House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corrib Wave Guesthouse is the home of Michael & Maria Healy & family. You are assured of a warm welcome to a family home with every comfort, Irish hospitality, superb home cooking, excellent wines, relaxing by open turf fire. Beautiful bedrooms, ensuite with views of lake and mountains. Peaceful & tranquility. Angling specialists, boats, engines for hire. 18 hole golf course 1km. Recommended by Le Guide Routard, Georgina Campbell as best places to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Corrib Wave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corrib Wave House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.