We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel 6” 2 of 5 stars
Review of King Sitric

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added King Sitric to your Saves list
King Sitric
East Pier, Howth, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Howth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oakland, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Motel 6”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

Do not recommend. Owners very nice, but the room was horrid. The hallways had a peculiar odor, shower not good although they did supply robes, bed was awful, room dank and appeared not to have been updated in 20 years. Views of harbor were very very limited...a small window, hardly a view. Worse place we have stayed in all our trips to Europe. Howth is a one night town with a great harbor. Not much going on with exception of good seafood restaurants (including the King Sitric which also has a very good wine selection). Howth also has a very interesting working harbor. A good place to wind down after touring Ireland if you are leaving from the Dublin airport. Good airport access.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    24
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
39
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cinque Terre, Italy
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

so, we stayed here then ate dinner here...the chef and his wife (who i assume runs the b and b side) are PHENOMENALLY friendly. Seriously. They are so, so sweet and pleasant that after I hung up the phone booking the room and dinner res I thought, this must be the nicest woman i have ever spoken with on the phone. They are just as nice in person. The food was good- very, very fresh. I had salmon and my boyfriend had lobster - we both got starters. It was not by any means the best seafood I have ever had, but it was certainly above average. Great atmosphere, great service - they were out of the half bottle of red I ordered, so the maitre'd opened a much better full bottle of red for me, poured half in a decanter, and charged me what the dinky little half bottle I ordered would have been. We ate there in the morning (b and b deal) - and it was excellent. The smoked salmon they serve is out of this world. I wouldnt give it 5 stars, but it is a solid choice in a great little town with a wonderful couple running it.

  • Liked — the great people running it!!
  • Disliked — nothing, it was great. would definitely go back.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

I made the mistake of telling a guest from Australia that the King Sitric was one of the best seafood restaurants in Ireland, and he took my wife and me there, along with his new fiance, our daughter. The downstairs reception area was comfortable, but cold. The upstairs dining room had a bit of a buzz and was comfortable though bordering on the dowdy. We had a nice table at the window, at which we ate extremely expensive, and in some cases very poor food. Crab mayonnaise that had no hint that it came from the sea, and tasteless monkfish, that needed a steak knife to cut it, were accompanied by unimaginative and poorly cooked vegetables. Our visitor was pleased with his lobster I think (he is very polite), and my daughter enjoyed her prawns.
Since our visitors were celebrating their engagement, and returning home two days later , we chose not to complain.
Had the cooking been top class, this would have been a very expensive meal, but it was very poor by any standard and a lot of the food should never have left the kitchen.

Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

Howth is a great place to stay for your first night in Ireland. The drive from the airport is easy and the town is right on the sea and very picturesque. The rooms at King Sitric are very comfortable and quiet. The dinner and breakfast were both outstanding. The owners couldn't have been nicer. We hope to return.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

We planned a spur-of-the-moment trip to Ireland and were lucky enough to find The King Sitric Restaurant 'with rooms'. Our room was immaculant and the linens were of high quality. The location is perfect - just a few feet from the water's edge. The highlight of our entire trip to Ireland was the fantastic dining experience at The King Sitric Restaurant. The service was superb and all of the many seafood dishes were the best we've ever tasted. We will plan all future trips to Ireland to be based in Howth and at this establishment.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2007

Not really impresed with this place. Was brought there on a Sat night as a pressie from my husband. Dinner booked for 8.30pm - finally got to the table at 9.30pm!

Bread on table looked like as if it came from a packet! Seafood was just OK - my husband claims he got a "big starter" for his main course and at €35 for the main course it was a bit steep! Service was sloppy except for lovely man who brought us our wine. The dessert however (sticky toffee pudding) was sublime and this filled my husband who wanted to go for chips previous to this after his meal!

Overcharged us on bill (a quick "apologies sir" apparently is sufficient) Also on the way out 2 staff members downstairs wiating around however we had to get our own coats!

Have travelled all over the world and eaten in many fine restaurants but this one is definately not memorable.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2006

A small hotel classified by Michelin as a Restaurant with Rooms - always a good indicator so far as I am concerned.

The rooms are well appointed, if a little on the small side, but - as you would expect from a place classified as a Restaurant with Rooms - the real strength of the place is the restaurant where guests take breakfast and, if they are sensible, book for dinner as well. Aidan and Mary run an outstanding establishment, Aidan at the stoves and Mary front of house. The fish - both at dinner and at breakfast - were as fresh and as well prepared as any that I have ever tasted.

The King Sitric is directly opposite Howth's east pier, a 10 minute walk from the DART station (which is by the west pier). Howth itself is a very attractive fishing harbour quite different from anyhting else to be found in Greater Dublin. The DART service provides frequent electric trains into central Dublin, a far better prospect than driving into the centre.

  • Liked — The owners, Joan and Aidan; the outstanding restaurant; the fish
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to King Sitric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Sitric

Address: East Pier, Howth, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Howth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Howth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1971, Aidan and Joan MacManus have earned an international reputation for fresh seafood in their harbour-side restaurant in the picturesque fishing village of Howth. In 1999, they extensively rebuilt their old Harbour Master's house, relocating the restaurant to the first floor with panoramic seaviews, and adding eight guest bedrooms. All the bedrooms are named after Lighthouses and have sea-views. DINING Fresh fish landed daily on Howth Pier, oysters and mussels from the west, lobster caught by our own fishermen in Balscadden Bay are among our specialities. Enjoy a pre-dinner drink in our East Cafe Bar while choosing your wine from our outstanding Wine List. National Hospitality Awards Best Seafood Restaurant 2014. We are situated in the golfing heartland of North County Dublin and for sailors Howth Marina is three minutes walk. Enjoy a gentle stroll on the Pier before breakfast or a more energetic hike on the unspoilt Cliff Path and the trails of Howth Head. For business, shopping or sightseeing, Dublin City is only 25 minutes by Dart. Dublin Airport 25 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your King Sitric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Sitric Howth
King Sitric Hotel Howth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Sitric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.