We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Pub Grub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Abbey Tavern

The Abbey Tavern
28 Abbey Street, Howth, Ireland
+353 (0) 1 839 0307
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Howth
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very Good Pub Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very good Pub grub with an extensive, economical, menu. Very good stews, fish & Chips, mac & cheese, salmon, etc. All washed down with ice cold Smithwick or Guinness Stout.

Lots of friendly, Interesting locals to talk to at the bar. Spent a few hours there enjoying the scene

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    56
    22
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Really nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great pint of Guinness & some more pints of McGarty's:) Nice atmosphere of a traditional Irish pub with a hint of gothic dungeon (haha just a bit...or was it ). We had a chance to listen to live gig as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“final tour stop for food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice dinner and show. the food was fine and choices limited because the tour package was picking up the check. however the food was fresh and good, the servers were attentive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“best experience in an traditional irish bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

last week i visited howth and stumbled upon the Abbey Tavern !!! There was a great show on and to my surprise i loved every minute of it .
The food that we ordered was first class starters were great and the main meals were really excellent topped of by the sweet and the great beer
Service was fast and really friendly I will visit this bar again as it has really impressed me
the customers were all chatty and easy to get along with
overall top marks to the manager and the staff

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Decent Food. Friendly Staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Nothing to ring home about but there is nothing wrong with the Abbey Tavern. The first evening I called in here the staff were nice and friendly and wanted to know was I new to the area - which I am. Food was good. Tasty, hot and served quickly. It has a good few areas for you to seat yourself down and it's perfect if you're on your own to just read a newspaper or go on the internet.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Abbey Tavern also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to The Abbey Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Abbey Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.