We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice evening with Irish Music and dance!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Abbey Tavern

The Abbey Tavern
28 Abbey Street, Howth, Ireland
+353 (0) 1 839 0307
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Howth
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Irish, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A nice evening with Irish Music and dance!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were part of a tour group here for our final evening on the tour. The food was good, the drinks were fine, and the entertainment very nice. There was a fiddler, a guitar, a singer and 3 Irish Dancers. Although the room was tightly packed the atmosphere was fun and enjoyable.
Worth the visit and a fine ending to our tour of Dublin, Killarney, and Galway.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    56
    22
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadellphia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful Irish Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This Abbey Tavern had a stone walled dining room, which was pretty cool, I felt like I was in a castle. The food was very good, we ordered the plain chicken, which was delicious. The apple crumble was outstanding and served warm. The entertainment was excellent! There were 2 girls and 1 boy, I guess around high school age, that did some fabulous Irish dancing. Then there was a band that consisted of 2 guitar players, a violin player, and a singer. They played and sang the traditional Irish songs such as Danny Boy. There were very good, but I especially liked the dancers. I would recommend this experience to everyone. The evening went so fast though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice mix of Music, dance & food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Cant comment on price as was part of tour package. Food was pretty good, the only time I had corned beef while in Ireland. Tasty & lean, but small portions. People in my group who had Salmon said was pretty good. Very limited selection with the package though. The song & dance were very enjoyable, about a 2 hour show all together. They do pack them in for this show & the service did suffer, as we waited probably 15-20 minutes when ordering drinks. All in all a good combination of food, music & dance. Would recommend if in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Came as a recommendation. Very nice place, cool bar. Has a lovely fireplace that they keep rolling. Food was delicious. Make sure to have chowder here!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“fantasic place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

went after our walk last monday evening for some barfood..we ordered fish and chips from our very friendly waitress who told us that it would take about 20 mins to cook because they cook everything fresh.we were happy to hear that.i got up to the bar to order 2 pints of guinness from the very friendly barman.while i was waiting for the guiness i asked him a few questions about howth and found his answers very informative.we found the staff very helpful and friendly.the food came and we really enjoyed it.the fish was cod and very tasty.when we visit howtb again we will be paying the abbey tavern a visit.well done the abbey tavern

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Abbey Tavern also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to The Abbey Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Abbey Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.