We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa

Save Saved
You added Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Howth, Howth, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Howth
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

Visited this hotel with family and friends to celebrate a 50th birthday. The hotel is located on the coast with the drive up to the hotel an 8 minute walk from the town and rail station. The hotel itself, although lacking in up to decoration was made up for by the hotel staff who were friendly, helpful and went the "extra mile" to ensure we had a great stay, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were large and had sky tv, tea/coffee making facilities plus a fridge in each room, with fantastic views of the coast. The food at breakfast was plentiful, tasty and hot. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent and value for money. Some great wines too. The spa facilities, gym, swimming pool were in excellent condition and well looked after. The hotel was clean, and well looked after. The golf was fantastic too, large wide fairways - however my son still managed to lose golf balls. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. There is even a castle in the grounds.

  • Liked — large rooms with sky tv tea/coffee and fridge
  • Disliked — tired needed updating
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    70
    68
    35
    37
See reviews for
63
96
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

A majestic driveway sweeps up to the hotel with fantastic views over Dublin Bay. This is a charming and cosy hotel as opposed to modern and sophiscated. The staff were very pleasant and helpful - especially when it came to organising and playing the different golf courses. Hotel food in the dining room was very enjoyable (as was the wine which was much needed after 18 holes!) and a varied snack menu was available from the lounge bar - again wonderful views across the bay. Hotel room was spacious, clean and had wonderful views across the golf course and bay. Read previous reviews and so was pleasantly surprised that the village was a short and enjoyable 15 minute walk away where, although quiet, there are a selection of pubs and restaurants to choose from. Highly recommend this hotel not only to golfers but for anyone wanting a relaxing weekend break with beautiful views. Will definitely book to come back again next year.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms with wonderful views and excellent golf
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky17, Manager at Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2008
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Please ask for Catherine White when planning a return trip, as Catherine can offer the best rates for our return guests. Once again thank you
Regards
David Tighe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversm-Holland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

In the last 5 yaers I was many times in The Deerpark Hotel.
That says something about the hotel, in other words it is lovely
situated on top of a hill with a breathtaking few on the sea.
Very friendly staff,rooms are comfortable,food is fine. And
played several rounds of golf in the park, used also the
beautiful trails for walking on the peninsula

  • Liked — View and spa
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

October 25, 2008
By: Richard Swauger, Arlington Virginia
On the first of this month my wife and I arrived at the Deer Park Hotel in Howth. Howth is a short DART ride from downtown Dublin, Ireland. We knew that we would like the hotel because of the quite enjoyable exchanges we had with the hotel staff prior to our arrival, but we did not expect the view from our hotel room. Imagine looking over a beautifully manicured golf course directly to the sea and on a clear morning the ring of islands just beyond. An added treat one morning was a flock of "Curlews" just on the other side of the practice putting green not 30 yards away from our window. The spa and pool bring an added dimension to this absolutely fabulous place. There is a castle on the grounds and you won't want to miss the stories about it and its inhabitants. But as much as the Dear Park; the town of Howth and our day trip to Dublin were wonderful; I would be remiss if I did not mention the hotel staff. David is a manager who draws the best from his team. Our reservation was made with the hotel and was too smooth for words. The whole bunch were like family to us. Want proof? Have you ever arrived at the airport and suddenly realized that your passport, tickets, etc. were missing. We did, and our hero, in charge of housekeeping brought the whole kit to the airport for us. Only a family member would do that. Do yourself a favor and make the Deer Park your home away from home and find your new family.

  • Liked — Staff; View, Access to Howth and fine resturants, Access to Dublin, Pool
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

What an experience. Through an impressive gateway, rising towards the hotel flanked by the opening holes of two of the hotels' golf courses. A great place to experience genuine Irish hospitality, quality food surrounded by several golf courses. Easy access to the lovely fishing port of Howth with its spendid array of seafood restaurants. Linked by the Dartline to Dublin City Centre. The Deerpark provides an excellent base for keen walkers and golfers alike. The gym is well equipped also. Highly recommended. David and his staff leads a professional team who are always willing to serve.
John & Lisa Devon UK

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birkenhead
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

We have just returned from another great trip to the Deer Park Hotel in Howth. We have been coming to the hotel for 10 years now, and have never had a bad experience. David and Antoinette are great hosts and now know us all personally. We first started coming to the Deer Park with a group of golfers (2 tough 18 hole, a 12 hole par 3, and an 18 hole pitch and putt, all 50 metres from your front door - what more can you ask for). We have since revisted many times, for golf and for short breaks. Howth is a great harbour town and Dulin is 15 minutes away on the DART. The staff at the Deer Park are friendly and provide great service, the food is always high quality and plenty of it. The facilites have all you need (the recent addition of the Gym and Spa, along with the great pool, mean there is something for everyone), plus the views are outstanding (see the view from our room attached). We cannot recommend the Deer Park Hotel highly enough and we are already planning our next trip.

  • Liked — Friendly approach of all staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

We were very disappointed with this hotel.

The entire hotel had seen better days. It had the feel of a retirement home but without the benefit of the stringent health & safety regulations to adhere to.

The decor belonged to another century. When we arrived they were laying replacement carpets in some corridors and stairwells, as the hotel had suffered a flood. This was probably the best thing that could have happened as it forced the management to replace at least some of the tired decor. Staff were very slow to clear the debris away once the carpet fitters left for the evening (1 employee with a vacuum) and even then it was left like an obstacle course for guests.

One of the rooms we were allocated had only 1 working light, the other had a very saggy double bed and sofa bed neither of which were serviceable, broken TV on which only BBC1 was watchable, handle missing off a cupboard, shower which wouldn't turn off and broken window frames which made the room unbearably cold.

Reception staff failed to program the room keys correctly therefore on 2 consecutive days we were locked out of 1 or both rooms.

The restaurant was permanently understaffed. Some waitresses tried their best but were overwhelmed by the number of guests. The 1 night we ate in the hotel, we heard a number of guests complain that what they ordered was not what arrived; they were offered free drinks as an apology.

The only redeeming feature of the hotel was the view, for which management can claim no credit.

  • Liked — Location & view
  • Disliked — Poor service, state of repair & noise
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky17, Manager at Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2008
I am sorry you were not happy with your stay, and the disruption caused by carpet laying. Yes we did have flood damage, but we replaced the carpet on two entire corridors at the same time, at a cost in excess of € 50,000
This is one of several major investments we have made in the past year. Your comment on the decor is obviously a taste issue. We are not a minimalist modern hotel and have in the past year refurbished the restaurant, bar and bedroom corridors, and we are currently feburbishing bedrooms. The carpeting has received nothing but praise from all our other guests and leisure members. We were very busy on the weekend, as were the staff, but I do not agree we were understaffed.I will check out the tv issue, however the window frame is not broken, it "tilts and slides" to allow ventilation. Again I am sorry you were not happy with your stay, and I hope future guests will be pleased with all our recent work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Howth hotels

Been to Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa

Address: Howth, Howth, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Howth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Howth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Park Hotel is situated in the grounds of Howth Castle and surrounded by its own golf courses and yet only 9 miles from Dublin City Centre and Airport. Facilites include swimming pool with sauna and steam room and 2 all weather tennis courts. All rooms have bathroom, shower, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Our Four Earls Restaurant offers an excellent menu including fresh fish from nearby Howth Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Park Hotel Golf And Spa
Deer Park Hotel Golf Howth
Deer Park Hotel Course
Deer Park Howth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.