We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful for something small, certainly wouldn't risk a meal here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Deep

Deep
12 West Pier, Howth, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 34 Restaurants in Howth
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tel: 806 3921 They've got a couple of rave reviews from newspapers displayed in their restaurant, but unfortunately I didn't note which papers they were. Their seafood was incredibly fresh, perhaps bought right off of the docks. We had incredible fried oysters and a hearty seafood chowder as appetizers, then an earlybird seafood special for two for dinner which included fishcakes, crawfish, mussels, Dublin Bay Prawns, squid, smoked salmon, and a small salad. Beautifully plated, amazingly delicious. I hope you're able to get more info because this place is not to be missed!
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Dreadful for something small, certainly wouldn't risk a meal here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A group of us went here for coffee yesterday morning and a few of us also ordered scones. The coffee was lovely but took quite a while to arrive. of the 4 scones we ordered, only one of them was actually edible. Mine was uncooked in the middle so when i eventually caught the attention of the very disinterested waitress, she brought me another one which was only marginally better: at this point i was starving so I ate it anyway. A friend got one that was like a rock and he didn't bother to complain, just didn't pay for it. They weren't busy, service was slow and if the quality of something as simple as a scone is anything to go by, I certainly wouldn't risk having anything more substantial here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    70
    18
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location, good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went here on Sunday for lunch. We arrived early so sat and enjoyed a coffee and read the Sunday papers before ordering lunch. We didn't have starters as we weren't that hungry but they all looked beautiful. We ordered the pan0fried cod and the rock bass. The cod was lovely but the rock bass was really fishy, not the restaurants fault at all but a warning might have been nice. Overall a lovely meal and would return if I was in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“great seafood and service, a regular favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Return regularly here, have never had a bad meal, excellent seafood, lovely atmosphere and serving staff have just the right level of attentiveness. Prefer to avoid Friday and Saturday nights though. This is a small restaurant and can get quite crowded - unless you like eavesdropping. Weekdays are much better for evening meals.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“It's actually not that bad.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The price was ok in comparison to the other restaurants and internationally compared. We had the bigger seafood pladder for 2 but actually were 3 ppl. The menu was not that big and from outside the fish soup in the other restaurants was maybe a bit better, because it's true that there weren't many fish in it. But the calamari were great and I've eaten quite some of them around the world. Same for the rest of the pladder . Give it a try!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must for a Howth visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you go do the cliffwalk in Howth Head, you'll most likely be quite hungry afterwards. I can recommend the restaurant Deep. It was very crowded, but we got our food in a acceptable timeframe. We had the seafood platter for two, costing 25 euros. The food was delicious!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deep also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to Deep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.