We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spread the word, the nicest restaurant in Howth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ella

Ella
7 Main Street, Howth, Ireland
+353 1 839 6264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 34 Restaurants in Howth
Price range: $9 - $44
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Ella is a small but very lively bistro in the heart of Howth Village, serving terrific food and great wines at reasonable prices. Many wines are available by the glass
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Spread the word, the nicest restaurant in Howth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Another great meal in Ella on Saturday night. Prawns tempura to die for, crab mornany delicious, the men thought the steaks were the best ever. I guess that's what happens when your butcher is four doors away! Cornels' lamb curry was superb. Sweet things were super, particularly the rhubarb & strawberry crumble, & I did here an ooh from the other end of the table before a chocolate brownie was quickly inhaled!!
This time we were a party of 8, I've been many times & love the laid back atmosphere & superb food. Good value& lots of special offers to be had when the purse strings are tight. Wonderful wine list, you can see how knowledgeable & into wine the team are. Very good service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Prawns tempura 2 die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

A lazy lunch with my wife & new son , prawns (Dublin bay) the best in Ireland , followed by banoffi 10/10 , service amazing & great value 2 !

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had dinner in Ella's place last weekend. Must say it was an experience. Restaurant looked nice and cosy, but this is all good to say about this place. We were early, just around 6 pm and the only two people in the place. The American woman who served us, was friendly, until we mentioned that there was cork and some residue in the red wine, which swam like a white substance on the top of the glass. Even the cork could be picked out by hand. The bottle was freshly opened, and it can happen. After mention it, the glass of red wine was replaced - after some discussion - with another glass from the same bottle. Same again (of course), cork and residue. We were more or less told, that there is nothing wrong, as the lady who served us drank the same wine behind the bar. Treated completely like fools. Do you really have to argue with the restaurant to make a point? Starter of salad was nice, but the main course of veal was a disaster. The veal actually looked like a pork chop. It was not pork but all my life I have eaten veal and I have never seen such a cut, full fat. The side dishes are not to mention at all. Over cooked veg and watery mash. We did not even bother to order deserts as planned (Early bird) and left. The attitude and manners of this woman was priceless. Even the next day when we passed the place and - as it happens - the woman looked out to us through the window, we got a killer look of her. What a waste of time, money as there are so many fantastic places in Howth to eat. STAY AWAY! For food reasons, but mainly for attitude reasons!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aoifemh, Owner at Ella, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I am really sorry that you had such a disastrous evening in Ella. I can only assure you that this is not the normal experience for the vast majority of our guests as you can see from the mainly favourable comments on our food, ambience and service. Aoife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“We were not disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Having read the excellent reviews for Ella on TA we called for an early evening meal on Tuesday night. A wonderful warm friendly welcome and attentive but not intrusive service. The food was delicious, freshly cooked and great quality. It's a bit of the main front at Howth, but well worth the climb up the hill !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aoifemh, Owner at Ella, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves so much! Aoife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant, Extremely Cozy and Wonderful Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We recently spent a week in Howth and dined at Ella Wine Bar consistently. Each time we visited we had exceptional food and service! Plenty to choose from on the menu and it is obvious that the chefs go to great lengths to ensure the food comes out fantastic! Well done!! Definitely our favorite place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ella also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.