We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Restaurant

The Cottage Restaurant
Jamestown, Leitrim 353, Ireland
353 (0)71 96 25933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Leitrim
Cuisines: European, Malaysian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Lovely evening in this homely spot. Food was exceptional very tasty we were very hay with the staff food ad atmosphere I would strongly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the area.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Oh my god the food in this restaurant is amazing, I can't believe it's tucked away in Jamestown! Would hold it's own in any county in Ireland!
The staff are lovely and attentive and though the space is small ( clue is in the name) it's not at all cramped. Beautiful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Its not just food.... its Cottage Restaurant food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Sometimes... just sometimes you come accross a little gem of an eatery. Cottage Restaurant is such a place.

Tucked away in Jamestown is one of Ireland's best kept secrets on the fine food front. Decided to go for a meal late one evening and was surprised to get a booking here having read the reviews of others. Anyway- the place is quite small which I have no problem with. Its intimate yet spacious enough not to be sitting on top of fellow diners. In fact the management have thus far resisted the temptation to squeeze in an extra table or two so hats off to them!

The menu. Well this was the best part.

Prior to starters we enjoyed a selection of breads with come very nice pesto & sun dried tomatoes. Best I've ever had if I am honest. Its nice to see a restaurant put the effort into something which it is giving out gratis and the meal was off to a flyer with this pre starter. The starters included everything from pigeon, scallops, monkfish, and chicken. I could not decide between the monkfish and the quail so I asked the waitress to let the chef decide. Silmlarly I had a conindrum when it came to the main course such was the diversity of the menu. I narrowed this down to two options again- the dry aged sirloin steak or the loin of lamb with moussaka.

Having let the chef decide I was not at all disappointed. My starter was quail breast & leg, crispy qualis egg with baby salad leaves and was just exquisite. The piece de la resistance was the mains. I had the loin of lamb with moussaka, aubergine puree and rosemary jus. The lamb was possibly the best I've ever had and would have been enough to make me smile all by itself but no, in the corner of the plate was a serving of lamb moussaka which had me grinning ear to ear for some time. These were served with curried potatoes, selection of greens and mashed potatoes. Every one of them- excellent- even the humble mashed potatoes.

For desert we had a cocunat cake with mango sorbet and meringue. Think baked alaska and you've got the gist of it. One tiny criticism would be that the mango overpowered the delicate cocunut flavour but overall it was light and refreshing which was what I'd expected.

Service was efficient, helpful, professional and friendly. Couldn't have asked for more.

Sometimes, just sometimes a chef gets it just right. Highly recommended. Fantastic.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyle, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“friends night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

went with friends.food delicious, staff friendly, lovely atmosphere. book well in advance. will be back. definitely recommend it to any one will not be disappointed. desserts delicious

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roscommon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Mother's Day lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Went here today with my husband and two small children. Food was lovely, very reasonably priced. Staff were so friendly - always had a smile on their faces and nothing was too much trouble . Will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
 
Leitrim, County Leitrim
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
 

Been to The Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.