We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carrots with fish and chips?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Barge

The Barge
Main Street, Leitrim, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
00353719620807
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 9 Restaurants in Leitrim
Cuisines: Irish
Description: Two hundred years old and family owned for the last ten, The Barge is an award winning traditional pub and restaurant, with roaring fires and flagstone floors.Situated in Scenic Leitrim Village, only a stones throw to the moorings on the River Shannon and within easy access of Dublin and Knock airports.Rose and John Pierce provide a warm welcome and take pride in serving high quality pub food. Diners, depending on their mood, can eat in the bar, the conservatory or the private dining room. There is also additional space in the large garden and marquee which in summer months is regularly used for bbqs. All areas are available for private parties, functions and after wedding parties. As a family run Restaurant we pride ourselves on great service good food and great atmosphere we hope to be one of the best dining experiences in Ireland which we hope that you will enjoy.
Restaurant details
Description: Two hundred years old and family owned for the last ten, The Barge is an award winning traditional pub and restaurant, with roaring fires and flagstone floors.Situated in Scenic Leitrim Village, only a stones throw to the moorings on the River Shannon and within easy access of Dublin and Knock airports.Rose and John Pierce provide a warm welcome and take pride in serving high quality pub food. Diners, depending on their mood, can eat in the bar, the conservatory or the private dining room. There is also additional space in the large garden and marquee which in summer months is regularly used for bbqs. All areas are available for private parties, functions and after wedding parties. As a family run Restaurant we pride ourselves on great service good food and great atmosphere we hope to be one of the best dining experiences in Ireland which we hope that you will enjoy.
Carrick, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Carrots with fish and chips?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Ordered fish and chips and was asked if i would like salad. I said no just the fish and chips. Some considerable time later my fish and chips arrived with peas and carrots. Food was poor and would not recommend to anybody. Poor service matched to unappetising food. Try somewhere else.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Not impressed at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had lunch here on a Thursday afternoon. There was a large party of diners at one table but nothing that explained the wait for the menu, the taking of the order and then, eventually the service.
When the food arrived, it was very disappointing - i had chosen the special of boiled bacon with cabbage and what i got was boiled fat, a small portion of bacon and some soggy microwaved cabbage and potatoes. My partner had the lasagne which was quite obviously microwaved judging by the hard scorched edges of the dish. The teenagers had very small portions of very basic sausage and chips, and chicken burger and chips!
I have eaten in many establishments and to be honest this was one of the worst meals I have had. Maybe I got the staff on an off day but I'm sorry to say that I will not be back here.
Go to the Chinese across the street!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroke City NI
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Amazing value: home cooking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

On a recent walking holiday in lovely Leitrim, we chose to eat at the Barge for its reputation for pub-grub.
This is a pleasant friendly place which offers a decent pint and staples for dinner: roast of the day, chicken, fish of the day etc.
We had a very pleasant meal and availed of the amazing early bird menu: 2 courses for E12.50. You'd be hard pressed to beat this place for value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Wouldn't be rushing back but the early bird menu done the job.
The table cloths make the place feel very dated

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“good value if you are not looking for gourmet dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Apart from the Hotel, this is really the only dining alternative in Leitrim Village.
Prices are affordable and whilst the food is pretty standard fare, the quality is acceptable. Service could be a tad quicker perhaps.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barge also viewed

Jamestown, County Leitrim
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
 
Leitrim, Carrick-on-Shannon
Leitrim, Carrick-on-Shannon
 

Been to The Barge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.