We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay room, but the staff are excellent!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Gregory Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lady Gregory Hotel to your Saves list
Lady Gregory Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ennis Road, Gort, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gort
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Okay room, but the staff are excellent!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The room we stayed in was outdated. However the staff were so great! Very nice and so helpful! It made up for the mediocre hotel room. Also the serve a amazing breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    86
    25
    12
    5
See reviews for
76
95
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
donegal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

really enjoyed our stay at this hotel staff lovely food very good .Hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed three nights in this hotel in July and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The food was very good and was good value for money. The Leisure facilities were a bonus and made the stay more relaxing.
We will definately be back as the location is very good for touring Galway and Clare.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Got a fantastic room, very spacious and very clean. The food in the restaurant was outstanding , simply mouth watering. Everything was very fresh and you could tell things were cooked to order. the staff were extremely friendly in the restaurant and were engaging in conversation and taking an interest in your trip. the reception staff greeted us with a friendly smile and were extremely pleasant. the breakfast the following morning was flawless. cooked to order and very tasty.
overall i had a very enjoyable stay in this hotel and will definitely be back . i would highly recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Arrival: Stayed here very recently with my partner. Was greeted at reception by a jovial woman who offered all the information necessary. The hotel is finished completely in wood which was very appeasing. The attendees at the carvery, evening meal and bar were all very good - quick and attentive.

Rooms: Rooms were pretty standard, not in a bad way but nice and comfortable. Double bed was two single beds pushed together......which drives me bananas. Also very eager cleaners tried to come into the room before we had even got up.

Food:The food was very generous. Portions were huge and you would not go away hungry. When we arrived we went straight to the carvery, which was yummy. Overall the hotel was very nice,the only thing that bugged me was that on arrival we were told breakfast finished at 11.30am. Coming down at 11am, we were told sorry breakfast is finished. No need go into details of what followed suffice to say we got a breakfast eventually which was.................................................................................very well cooked.

Leisure:
the swimming pool was chilly but it was quiet which was nice. The Jacuzzi was nice and warm and my haunt for the morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

we were in gort recently and stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. we were late on the first night so we went to the bar for food and was i glad we did.
the menu was 4 courses for 20 euro which i thought was dubious to say the least.
i had seafood chowder and a freshly made burger and my wfe had seafood risotto.
absolutely delicious and 45 euro including drinks and to think we paid 30euro plus for soup and a sandwich in killarney.
this is not a budget hotel, but an old style really good hotel providing everyone with great service and value for money.
its a tough time for tourism in ireland but any hotel could take example from these people as we will be back to spend our money again at the lady gregory. thanks for a great weekend

Room Tip: no need for tips,,all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I read a lot of reviews for this and other establishments before choosing this place. Am I glad I did. It is a proper posh hotel that is welcoming, friendly and comfortable. We will remember this hotel for all the right reasons. I cannot find a single point to mark it down on. Reception and check in was a dream. The place exudes comfort and class. The staff throughout the premises, reception, bar, breakfast et al were obviously trained for their tasks and not merely thrown in at the deep end as experienced in other establishments.
The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of several pubs and bars and also shops, supermarkets and 'offies' and of course the obligatory Indian which was pretty good.
Whichever room or floor you are allocated make sure you check out the staircase. It is a work of art in itself, as is the woodworking in the bar and restaurant.
Our room had little or nothing of a view but I didn't care. Fabulous room amd the bathroom very, very tastefully fitted out and decorated. One gripe, if any, is that the lights are too bright if you are using it in the middle of the night. The room was spotless with crisp clean white lines.
The hotel is on one side of a residential street which is a new one on me but there was little traffic to cause any problems.
The breakfast was fabulous and was so big after the first morning my wife took to ordering a 'mini' breakfast which she found more manageable.
Plenty of free parking available on site.
Ideal stopping place for The Burren and the Cliffs of Moher.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Doubt there would be an issue with any rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lady Gregory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Gregory Hotel

Address: Ennis Road, Gort, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Gort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Gregory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Lady Gregory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Gregory Gort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Gregory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.