We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coole Park

Coole Park
1km from Gort, Co Galway, Ireland, Gort, Ireland
353-091-563081
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Gort
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a beautiful park , choice of short or long walks thru the woods , full of history Lady Gregory and WBYeats George Shaw , etc great place to take kids and have a picnic , lots of locals use the parks for running walking etc , so peaceful and Santa keeps some of his reindeers there in the deer park which small kids love to see .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    32
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Very unique atmosphere and energy surrounded by trees and peaceful lake...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Was here for many times in 2008. We came back to Ireland this time and visited the park again. The water level of the lake was so high now that we couldn't walk on a path that used to be there.

I like it as it is very peaceful for being there.

There are a few walking paths and a big wall garden.

If you are in Gort or just passing by, it is a great stop to enjoy some moments of serenity.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent 10 days in Ireland and came across Coole Park thanks to the suggestion of our Landlord. We had driven past it many times without noticing... such a shame had we not stopped!
The park is luxuriant and peaceful. You can choose between long and short walks and they all lead to unexpectedly beautiful spots. With family or alone, this park is definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Freedom for Kids, Great Walks and a little history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Spent a very relaxing few hours here last weekend with the kids. The Walled Garden, which encloses several acres, has plenty of picnic benches on the grass and under a sheltered area. Parents can chill while the kids run amok in safety. The walks are very pleasant with lovely views of the lake and plenty of open space under some very tall trees. The trees keep put the wind and probably rain also.
The visitor centre was free on the day and the presentations were very informative. It subtly presents clothing, furniture and artifacts held in Coole House in the settings that they would have resided.
Quite an illustrious list of literary icons were regular visitors to Coole House in it's heyday. I had known about Yeats' visits but wasn't aware the likes of George Bernard Shaw had stayed there. The nature displays and exhibits were simple and focused on local flora and fauna.
The relatively small size of the visitor centre is actually quite deceptive and is to it's advantage. We had time to enjoys the presentations and learn more about how the people in the house lived.
You pick up interesting snippets of information like how Yeats would ramble around the grounds "mumbling" to himself before presenting his work to Lady Gregory and how she was involved in the critical analysis of his works.
I didn't need to visit the Tea Rooms as we had a picnic.
Overall, its a very pleasant place to visit and its a real shame many hundreds of tourists going to and from Galway pass the turn to Coole every day during the summer season.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent - a must see attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Coole Park, the exhibition is excellent and a wonderful way to learn about Lady Gregory's life. We completed the hour and a half forest trail, and really enjoyed it, it is a beautiful place to visit. We spent about three hours at Coole Park, and it didn't cost a cent. Excellent.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coole Park also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
 
Inishmore, Aran Islands
 

Been to Coole Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coole Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.