We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The B&B we have ever stayed...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laurels Bed & Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gort
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurels Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Laurels Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Tubber Road | Ballybaun, Gort, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Gort B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“The B&B we have ever stayed...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We cannot speak highly enough about this lovely B&B. We were staying for a triathlon nearby and the owners; Jenny and Pierce could not have made us feel more at home. The room was incredibly comfortable and Breakfast was great. Makes me proud to be Irish knowing that foreign tourists can stay here and really be made welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fareham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at the Laurels whilst my partner and his sons participated in the local Triathlon. Jenny and Pierce made us so welcome, tea and scones on arrival, lovely rooms and plenty of room to relax in the lounge and garden. Nothing was too much trouble, from a huge pan of porridge and cooked breakfast to set us up for the day (big lads with big appetities!) to good advice on the best places to eat and visit. Jenny even lent me a pair of wellies on triathlon day, as the weather was abysmal! We became so settled over the three days and were sad to leave. Will be back next year for the Lough Cutra event and for more of your wonderful hospitality. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

The Laurels is the best B and B you will ever stay in. In fact it is so much more than a B and B. I stayed there in Nov 11 with a colleague whilst working in the area and hope to visit with my wife and friends and enjoy the local area. Jenny and Pierce are fabulous....nothing is too much trouble.....a fantastic couple........ rooms are brilliant and spotless......except for the balls on the pool table in the games room ! By the way Pierce, well played...you just edged it I think. Breakfast was simply the best I have had in any B and B and have stayed in many. If you are reading this as you are looking for a place to stay in Gort then please make your booking, you will not be disappointed, your stay will be relaxing and wonderful and incredible value for money !!!!. My colleague and I hope to find a Jenny and Pierce in other areas of Ireland. You will have guessed why the title is Roll On February 2012........that is when we will next travel to Ireland.
Thank you Jenny and Pierce.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Our family of five adults (3 rooms) enjoyed our time at Jenny & Peirce’s B&B. Their home is beautifully furnished and the bedrooms are specious. Excellent breakfasts were served and our hosts were very flexible and accommodating to our morning schedules. Their home is ideally located outside of the quaint town of Gort. We enjoyed good conversation in the evening with Jenny and Pierce and had a challenging game of pool with Pierce. They are warm and hospitable people and our family highly recommends the Laurels. You’ll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed with Jenny and Pierce for 2 nights. They made our stay so enjoyable. The rooms were very well maintained and adorable. The breakfasts were delicious and Pierce had scones and tea for us when we arrived. One evening I was a little chilly and Jenny gave me a big, white and warm robe to wear. I would come back to this b & b if we ever came back to Ireland. I would recommend this place. Pierce and Jenny were wonderful inkeepers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Spent an all too short two nights at this wonderful B&B. The rooms are perfect, bathrooms spacious and the beds are so comfortable. Jenny makes an outstanding breakfast and Pierce makes you feel right at home with his banter. A wonderful couple that we so enjoyed getting to know - great conversations in the sunroom and at breakfast. The game room was a great way to unwind after a day of driving the narrow roads of Ireland. Beware though of Pierce and his pool skills - he's quite good! Lovely people, lovely respite - we shall see them again...

Room Tip: Snag an upstairs room - awesome bathrooms with two person tubs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed at the pristine, beautifully appointed Laurels B&B in Gort in the beautiful countryside and a very easy drive to Galway city, the Burren, the Cliffs of Moher and other local sights of interest. Not only were the accomodations very tasteful and comfortable, the owners, Pierce and Jenny, were very hospitable and friendly. Jenny's homecooked breakfasts were fabulous, and Pierce grows a lot of their produce in the back garden. Besides the lovely ensuite room (with a very comfortable bed), there was a comfy lounge, sunny conservatory, games room, and garden for guests. Staying at Laurels with Pierce and Jenny, we felt like we were staying with friends. We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. Thanks, Pierce and Jenny!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laurels Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurels Bed & Breakfast

Address: Tubber Road | Ballybaun, Gort, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Gort
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gort
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurels Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.