We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing family holiday with riding centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slieve Aughty Riding Centre

Slieve Aughty Riding Centre
Kylebrack West, Loughrea, Ireland
+353 (0) 90 97 45246
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in Loughrea
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Slieve Aughty Riding Centre in the west of Ireland offers horse riding holidays, active family holidays, horse riding lessons, treks and cross country, and English language tuition. A family owned eco-friendly equestrian and activity centre, Slieve Aughty has created a peaceful, welcoming place for families and individuals to immerse themselves in nature’s wonders, spend time with horses and and humans, and enjoy comfortable accommodation and delicious organic food. Conference and special event facilities are available for unique celebrations.A memorable experience for all, escape to the beauty and tranquility of the Slieve Aughty mountains in County Galway. We invite you and your family to spend a day or a week with us and experience The Difference.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing family holiday with riding centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I was looking for a family break with my little daughter and found this place. People here was very friendly and easy going. When I booked this place, my daughter was 4 years old, so we got a great discount, which we were charged only for adults. My daughter couldn't take any horse riding lessons because of her age, so one of the staff took her and put her on the horse back for a while in the yard, which was very thoughtful. She still remember the days we stayed this place and talks about it. Food here is organic, so we had no worries of eating junk food during the stay. We liked the pizza night on Friday. The only thing I didn't like was breakfast was not available until 12pm lunch time on Sunday. We knew about it that they serve as Brunch, so we had to drive somewhere to eat breakfast and come back to eat as lunch as we got up early and couldn't wait to be served until lunch time! As a family with young children, we usually get up early to start the day, so it was a bit hard to adjust the routine, especially we were staying here only for the weekend. Everything here moves slowly, so if you are looking for relaxed time with your family, then it would be perfect.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluetopaz99, Guest Relations Manager at Slieve Aughty Riding Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed the area, the food and the activities.
We are a little bit confused about your comments on the Sunday morning breakfast. There must have been a big misunderstanding, and for this we apologise.
We serve breakfast at 10am every Sunday morning for our residential guests. The brunch option is available on our 'cafe menu' which is also open to the public.
To avoid confusion like this, we include our meal times in the Welcome and Information letter we provide in all our rooms.
Again, we apologise for the misunderstanding and the inconvenience it caused you and your family. We hope you return again some day when your daughter is old enough (5+ years) to go for a woodland trek!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clonaslee, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Riding center with a difference ..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Love the calmness and sence of peace at slieve aughty .. the accommadation is fab .. food is great so organic and fresh ... Definitely worht a visit .. i will definitely go back ..
The food may be a bit expensive and notice must be given if you want to eat there !!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“horse adventures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

i have brought a couple of beginner friends along as a gentle introduction to horse riding here. i chose here because of its lovely calm atmosphere. i am only novice rider and was delighted to take a quiet trek through some truly delightful scenery. both times the instructor we rode out with was very friendly and helpful at putting my friends at ease. cant wait to go back for a more advanced adventure.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughrea, Galway, Ireland
1 review
“What a little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I love this riding centre. I live in Loughrea and always bring my family and friends to Slieve Aughty when they visit us. My sister visited this summer from Holland with her two girls aged 9 and 14, they were very taken with the place and as well as enjoying the Friday pizza night they also signed up for a half day workshop. They loved it and commented on how friendly and welcoming the place was not to mention good value for money. The food is wonderful and the whole atmosphere is second to none.

I would highly recommend a visit whether you are a local or a visitor it's a great place to add to your list of things to do.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Horse-Holiday Heaven..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

''I know of the leafy paths that the witches take,
Who come with their crowns of pearl and their spindles of wool,
And their secret smile, out of the depths of the lake''

WB Yeats knew about the magic of Slieve Aughty and there isn't a place better situated to experience it for yourself, and what better way then to explore it on a horse.
From the sleepy fairy forest to the wide open paths perfect for a canter, and then into the murky well trodden trails for the more adventurous, it caters for everyone.

It is truly enchanting, from the beautiful centre itself to the fantastic hacking. The relaxed atmosphere and the facilities are second to none. Great value to take your own horse too.

Definitely a great place for visitors from outside Ireland to really enjoy the countryside.

I've attached a photo from my first visit back in 2011 where we were truly soaked to the skin and still thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, its beautiful and magical, rain or shine. I've visited many times since and hope to again and again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slieve Aughty Riding Centre also viewed

 
Loughrea, County Galway
 

Been to Slieve Aughty Riding Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slieve Aughty Riding Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.