We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Taste Matters!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taste Matters

Taste Matters
Westbridge | Galway, Loughrea, Ireland
+353 91 880 010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Loughrea
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A cosy little bistro-style restaurant with delicious food & wine and casual friendly atmosphere.
Mayo
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Incredible Taste Matters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

What a meal - ate here with my husband and had to call back again. I had steak the first meal and I licked the organic plate clean! The flavours were fantastic... loved the generous portion of salad tastefully decorated with roasted grated carrot dribbled in balsamic dressing. We both thoroughly enjoyed our follow up meal of Salmon and King Prawn tagliatelle. As for the price - bring cash and not much needed as this restaurant is very competitive. Overall a place to note!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jirka82, Owner at Taste Matters, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
It is always so nice to see people coming back. Thank you so much! On your next visit you can look forward to some new dishes as our menu has changed. The style is still the same though – simple, honest, wholesome, fresh and tasty of course! Taste really does matter. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    19
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love It !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have eaten here a few times for lunch and dinner. I have not one negative to say about everything. They are child friendly at Lunch time and every meal I have had has been perfect. Service was excellent. The food is very tasty with a different zing to it. It is a small restaurant but you can still have an intimate chat. I like the food best of everything. There wine choice is good too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jirka82, Owner at Taste Matters, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Many thanks for you kind words! We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“''Eye catching and Excellent''”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

If your are a Sunday road tripper, and enjoy good wholesome fresh home cooking - then a visit to 'Tast Matters' in Loughrea is a must!
On Sun 16th Sept , my friend and I took a spontanous trip to east Co Galway, en route we decided to abandon the motorway and enjoy the rural route, Behold - our taste buds were enlightened on noticing an eyecatching Restaurant in Loughtea called 'TASTE MATERS'. parking at the door was readily available, with bistro tables and seating for 'al fresco' dining if desired. On entering, we were pleasently greeted by a cheerful waitress and friednly young gentleman. the decor was fresh and Art themed, Tables neatly arranged - but the best was yet to come! Sunday lunch menu was varied with prices ranging from 5.50 to 9.50. good selection on offer and tempting array of Desserts. The young gentleman introduced himself as co-propritor, We ordered 'SEAFOOD CHOWDER' for two, opting for one serving of mash instead of Soda Bread, The chowder was served -perfectly hot and creamy with delicious chunks of fresh perfectly cooked fish including whole prawns, mmmm I can still tast the freshness of the 'food of the sea' , within a few minutes the whole place began to fill up with Sunday Lunch revellers, and it appeared most of them were regurlar Sunday patrons.
A Lone Ranger sat next to us, introduced himself then orderd his regurlar Lamb lunch, which looked appetizing and appealing. Our short and sweet visit was a pleasure. Due to the effecient staff, reasonable priced varied menu, delicious food and relaxing decor and PERFECT PARKING.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jirka82, Owner at Taste Matters, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write your lovely review... and big thanks to the rural route which brought you to us! The chowder is indeed very popular and it has been on our menu ever since we opened. We are glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us and hopefully we will see you again sometimes... the chowder will still be there! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Unrivalled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Best ever. No negatives. Very well done all, continued success. Cant wait to go again. Thanks guys! Best food and wine anywhere....

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jirka82, Owner at Taste Matters, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you kindly! We are doing our best not only to keep the standard up, but to exceed it. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughrea, Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

just enjoyed a fantastic celebration meal tonight. the food was excellent as were the staff. I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jirka82, Owner at Taste Matters, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you very much! We are happy you enjoyed your meal and the service, especially on a special occasion. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste Matters also viewed

Loughrea, County Galway
Loughrea, County Galway
 
Loughrea, County Galway
Loughrea, County Galway
 

Been to Taste Matters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste Matters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.