We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our experience of our visit to Lissadel House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lissadell House

Lissadell House
Open Mornings Daily to October 13 2013, Drumcliff, Ireland
353-71-63150
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 things to do in Drumcliff
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This restored mansion is noteworthy for historical reasons - it served as the home for the Gore-Booth family, prominent in Irish political history - as well as architectural.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our experience of our visit to Lissadel House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Our visit to this beautiful and historic place was a wonderful experience.From its very friendly staff to the majestic house and surrounding courtyard etc and on to the beautiful gardens.It was an enriching and enlightening experience .The owners deserve every credit and complement for everything they have done ,which includes a very reasonable entrance fee and long made they continue in this place of rare beauty which is of such value to the people of Sligo and indeed Ireland.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    18
    13
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cavan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Return to Lissadell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We really looked forward to our return to Lissadell, recently re-opened to visitors after five years. In some ways nothing had changed but there is a sense that it has to again struggle to find its feet, where part of it's history has been a struggle at every turn and we hope that it once again becomes the jewel in the tourism crown. This time we didn't go into the house and spent our time wandering around the wonderful gardens. The Alpine garden is a gem, while the walled vegetable garden will take quite a bit of work to bring it back to looking it's best but should be okay once in the hands of a competent team of gardeners. The food in the coach-house restaurant is all home prepared and excellent value for money. We definitely hope to be back again to Lissadell before the end of the summer.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good and will only get better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I visited Lisadell house on Saturday 12th July with four of my relatives. It was a warm day with a dull sky and I'd been looking forward to seeing the house since it reopened. The owners and their children were visible on site, working with the rest of the employees. They greeted us with real warmth.
The tour of the house was led by a tall young man dressed handsomely in a suit. As a tour guide myself, I understand that the first few weeks of an opening attracation are difficult as you perfect your tour content and get to grips with visitors. He dealt with this wonderfully, speaking to us with knowledge and a sense of humour. We took in the large billiards room, ballroom, a few lounge rooms and the servants quarters/kitchen. I'd have liked to see more only because I'm awful nosy! All in all the tour was very enjoyable and covered concisely the wonderful history of Lisadell, including that of it's most memorable inhabitant, Countess Markievicz.
There is probably a better time of year to see the gardens but they hold much potential.
The museum dedicated to Constanze Markieviecz and the beautiful coffee shop are also a lovely addition. Reasonably priced at 8 euros and well worth your time if you're touring the land of heart's desire.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Walk in the past.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Visited Lissadell House yesterday, I knew very little about Constance Markiecviz but the guide John was very informative, he was knowledgable and funny. We didn't feel rushed though the rooms which was nice. He advised us the basement would be cooler than upstairs and it certainly was, so take a cardigan. It is obvious Lissadell is a work in progress and more restoration work needs to be carried out. But still well worth a visit. We had a coffee and cake later in the tea rooms which the owner was helping to serve , she was keen to hear our opinions and it is obviously a labour of love for her. Tea room food really good quality and great value. Will revisit next year when back to see if walled gardens are back to former glory . For 12 euro well worth visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting tour, funny guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We visited the house whilst on a short Breaak to Sligo. Being interested in con markiecivz I had been planning a trip for some time. Upon arriving we visited the countess markiecivz exhibition and than on to the tour of the house where our tour guide was informative, funny and easy to listen to. Beautiful house and fascinating tour especially regarding the servants quarters. On to the alpine gardens afterwards, which are stupendous and rounding our afternoon off with a delightful sliver of carrot cake in the tea rooms! Great value for €12!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lissadell House also viewed

Mullaghmore, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 
Sligo, County Sligo
Drumcliff, County Sligo
 

Been to Lissadell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lissadell House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.