We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Juliet Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Juliet Estate to your Saves list
Mount Juliet Estate
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thomastown, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

As we are getting married here in November, we travelled to Mount Juliet for our wedding menu tasting in the Lady Helen restaurant, so I will start the review with the food. All of the dishes we tasted were out of this world, and the wines we tasted were equally delicious. Making a decision for our wedding menu was extremely difficult as everything we tasted so amazing! I highly recommend the Lady Helen for anyone staying here, and to echo other reviewers it is definitely worthy of a Michelin star. Breakfast the following morning was 5 star standard, with a great selection in both the buffet and cooked to order menu (I had amazing pancakes with maple syrup, bacon and fresh berries).
The room we stayed in was spacious and elegantly furnished, with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Little details in the room like still and sparkling water, an array of organic tea/coffee/hot chocolate with a designer-style kettle, and homemade toiletries in the bathroom add to the 5 star feel of this hotel.
For leisure we used the pool, which was nice and quiet as there are allocated times for families. My one and only criticism during our stay would be the absence of shower gel and shampoo in the shower/changing area in the leisure centre, which surprised me as all of the other public bathroom areas in the hotel had luxury soaps and lotions etc.
After breakfast on our day of departure we went for a cycle around the estate, as the hotel has bikes for guests to use during their stay. It was really beautiful to explore the grounds and to cycle through the stud farm and the river.
Even though we only stayed for one night, we were so relaxed afterwards that it felt like a week! I cannot recommend Mount Juliet enough, it is perfect, and I can't wait to go back in November for our big day!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful, but the Riverview rooms have recently been refurbished and are worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of your visit to Mount Juliet. Your wonderful comments are a pleasure to read and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I take on board your comments regarding the leisure centre, and will follow this up with the Manager concerned. Thank you again for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your special day with us in November.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    97
    36
    15
    18
See reviews for
123
316
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent three days at the beautiful country estate during the coldest March Ireland has experienced in 50-60 years. Despite the swirling snowflakes, it was a delightful, peaceful respite in a very active trip. We spent 6 hours riding horses through the heavily wooded hillsides, watched golfers and hikers combating the bitter cold, and relaxing in the spa and pool. The food at the Lady Helen Restaurant was superb and the fresh salmon was the best I've ever had! This resort offers a Jack Nicklaus-designed competitive golf course, a thoroughbred breeding farm, miles of trails, and an attentive staff attuned to meeting or exceeding every expectation. I will return!

Room Tip: There are a range of rooms from which to choose. We stayed in the main house overlooking the front y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent visit to Mount Juliet. I am delighted to read you had such a fabulous stay with us and that in particular you enjoyed the horse riding and dining in the Lady Helen Restaurant. Thank you again for your wonderful comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again for an equally enjoyable visit.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trim, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A beautiful old house set in the middle of lovely parkland and forest. We went for a couples getaway and it fit the bill perfectly. Lovely reception rooms for lounging around in, really nice long walks and great activities on site for the more active. The leisure centre is in a separate building so doesn't really work as part of the hotel but its still ok - nothing special but perfectly acceptable.
Lovely bedrooms, we stayed in a Manor House Superior room and could not fault it. The staff at Reception were very pleasant but pretty useless - did not know pricing of stays, did not get back to is with regard to booking activities, didn't follow up on any of our queries.
We stayed 2 nights, ate in the Golf Club House the first night - very good. Then the main house restaurant on the second night. Prior to dinner we had enquired about booking in for a 3rd night but after eating there decided it was not worth staying around for. The dinner was such a disappointment. Staff are not trained and from beginning to end it was a shambles. The food all looks beautiful and is very impressive when it is brought out, but the Chef needs to start again. The flavours are mismatched, nothing actually tastes good. I'm not a big foody, but found myself getting really annoyed with the food, it is such a badly constructed menu, and they are getting away with it because it looks good - but it is not good food. Get rid of the freeze drying machine! Taste your food and get back to basic good cooking. This is an expensive venue and I will go back but will not eat in the restaurant, it should be much better for the prices and setting.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review following your visit to Mount Juliet and also for your kind comments regarding many aspects of your stay. However, I am very disappointed to read your feedback regarding our Reception staff and your dining experience in the Lady Helen Restaurant. As you will see from other Trip Advisor reviews, we have received many wonderful comments regarding our staff and the Lady Helen over the past year. I would welcome an opportunity to discuss your various comments with you, and if you wish, please feel free to contact me directly. I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Booked this at the last minute and it was a great choice! The main house oozes history, the rooms are small but in the context of the house they feel fine. The bed is perhaps the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The golf course is spectacular!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay at Mount Juliet and in particular, in relation to the golf course. I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to us.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Spent two nights in Mount Juliet during July. Hard to describe how wonderful this estate house is. Lady Helen restaurant was among the best I have had had the pleasure of eating in. Bed rooms were very spacious, comfortable and relaxing, slept like a log. Breakfast was excellent. Staff well in tune with the needs of the 5 star visitors - we were treated like we were part of a family. Bar although quiet (Sunday and Monday and nights) although quiet was very cosy.
Fantastic walks around the grounds and lots to do in the estate - fishing, horses riding, archery, shooting and golf. Kilkenny city and the many attractions in the county would keep any tourist busy for the best part of a week.

Room Tip: Book well in advance. If you have an interest in horses let them know when you are booking, you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of your stay with us. It gives me great pleasure to read your wonderful comments and in particular, regarding your dining experience in the Lady Helen Restaurant. Thank you very again and we hope to welcome you back soon again.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here with family for a weekend break, beside the fact that there is every activity you could possibly want what makes Mount Juliet special is the welcome of the staff, in particular I would like to thank Jenny for the wonderful trail ride through the estate. The horse are obviously well cared for and well trained and Jenny managed to make two nervous but enthusiastic riders feel confidant. Dinner was an event but again made special by the staff,golf course is a real challenge, we stayed in a self catering cottage and for a family break catering for different ages I could not recommend Mount Juliet highly enough

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fabulous comments following your family stay at Mount Juliet. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed many of the activities available on site. Thank you for you kind words regarding our staff and in particular, Jenny. It will give me great pleasure to pass on your comments to all concerned. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you and your family in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Thanks to all the team in Mount Julliet for a great weekend - it was great to be back in the best hotel in the world...those magical gates you pass through worked their charms once more it's friendly professional staff make you so welcome - thanks Mount Julliet.

Room Tip: Ring in plenty of time as demand is always high for Mount Julliet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback following your return stay at Mount Juliet. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and your kind comments are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Juliet Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Juliet Estate

Address: Thomastown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Thomastown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mount Juliet Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mount Juliet Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Juliet Estate Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Thomastown
Thomastown Conrad
Mount Juliet Estate Ireland/Thomastown, County Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Juliet Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.