We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Resort has it All.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Juliet Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Juliet Estate to your Saves list
Mount Juliet Estate
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thomastown, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“This Resort has it All.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We loved our first stay at this resort in their Presidential Suite which is very good value when you see what the suite provides with regard to view and size it really does take some beating.

We moved into the suite as the Boss Bruce Springsteen moved out only hours earlier.

There is so much to do on the resort for all Golf, Archery, Clay shooting, Walking, Swimming etc.

Please read the book on the estates last owners it really is a lovely story.

Just stay you will not regret it the grounds are just beautiful.

Room Tip: The Presidential Suite has the most beautiful windows and French doors with a view to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Ireland.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    97
    36
    15
    18
See reviews for
123
316
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I have had the pleasure of staying at Mount Juliet three times this year. So Far!!

We have always stayed in the main house so I can't comment on the lodges etc. The rooms are a really good size and well decorated. Staff are attentive, friendy and efficient. Ask for a river view room; the views are especially spectacular early in the morning and this time of year when the mares are out with their foals.

I must comment on the Lady Helen restaurant. It won the Best Hotel Restaurant in Ireland a few months ago and it is easy to understand why. The food is absolutely fabulous and I am sure it must be in the running for a Michelin star.

The golf club is a short walk from the main house and is a great spot for a drink and casual dining. There is always a buzz about the place with golfers and friends having pre and post round food and drinks. Again, the staff are great.

We will be back as soon as time permits.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your fantastic comments following your visit to us and I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay. It will give me great pleasure to pass on your comments to all concerned. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had booked the lodges, but were upgraded to the main hotel. This is former country estate, and they make it seem as if you're a guest at a country estate rather than a hotel. Theservice is efficient and correctly understated. The rooms are very large and completely in character with the country house feel, with huge bed set in large proportioned rooms.

We ate in the main hotel restaurant, and had the 8 course tasting menu. It was easily for me the best meal of our trip, and must be verging on Michelin star quality. Breakfast was great, set you up for the whole day.

The golf course is a superb park land set up, as befits a country house hotel, you'll remember the third for a long time if you par it like I did.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent visit to Mount Juliet. I am very pleased to read that you had a wonderful visit and that in particular you enjoyed your dining experience. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again.


Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had the pleasure of bring some overseas friend to Mount Juliet. We booked the Cottages as it provided a great facility to have two bedrooms and sitting room, like a mini suite. We booked dinner in the Lady Helen Restaurant and the food was fantastic, unfortunately we were seated beside a radiator (heater) which could not be turned off and it was 29%C outside. Notwithstanding this the food and service was excellent and very well presented. The estate is fantastic and the management provide guests with suggested walks which are highly recommended. Highly recommended and our overseas friends were very impressed.

Room Tip: If your travelling with friends book the Rose Garden Cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you and your friends enjoyed your visit and thank you for your lovely comments. I hope you will visit us again in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE USA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the setting, facilities and the food. Best breakfast we had in Ireland. Evening meals were likewise excellent. Lots of outdoor activities and close to many sites. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Cottages are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments in your review following your visit. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip and we look forward to seeing you here again on your next visit to Ireland.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland, Indiana
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Treated ourselves to a midweek break during the hottest week in Ireland this year. Attentive service upon check in and dined the first night in The Presidents Bar where food and service were both good. Bedroom a bit cramped and very hot, advised not to leave windows open overnight which made it very uncomfortable. Breakfast service slow and staff were very disorganised with no real supervision. The hotel is in a superb location and the golf course is in excellent condition, however I believe hotel could do with some refurbishment and staff could improve their customer care.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay. I am delighted to receive your positive feedback in relation to your dining experience in the Presidents Bar. However, I was disappointed to read your comments in relation to service at breakfast and would like to assure you that this matter has been addressed. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mount Juliet in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Loved mount Juliet stayed in the clubhouse and attended a wedding in kendels we had our drinks reception in the main house which was lovely. The food at the wedding was second to none . Lovely terrace to sit out and a lovely view . But with all the finery etc I have to say the staff were outstanding so pleasant and helpful they work really hard but they had a great attitude and were so friendly this I can't express enough well done and thank you all for making a great weekend even better

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read that you had a great weekend and enjoyed the wedding celebrations with us and thank you for your splendid comments. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Juliet Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Juliet Estate

Address: Thomastown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Thomastown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mount Juliet Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mount Juliet Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Juliet Estate Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Thomastown
Thomastown Conrad
Mount Juliet Estate Ireland/Thomastown, County Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Juliet Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.