We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening Tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Juliet Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mount Juliet Estate to your Saves list
Mount Juliet Estate
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thomastown, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Wexford,
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Evening Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We paid a visit to Mount Juliet for meal on Sunday evening, this we found to be a great experience, the food was fantastic the scenery is outstanding and the staff make you feel like a millionaire, great work gentlemen, a big thank you to Liam, Ed, Daniel and Jacob for the way they took care of us.
Thank you.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback following your visit to Mount Juliet and in particular in relation to our staff. It will give me great pleasure to pass on your comments to all concerned. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    97
    37
    15
    18
See reviews for
125
316
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Mount Juliet is a breathtaking property with indescribable views. The golf course is stunning. There is an 18 hole putting/practice green as well. The Club house is wonderful. The food is amazing and the staff were beyond friendly and helpful. The pool and grotto/fitness area was very lovely and unique. We went horseback riding and bike riding and walking through trails. The horseback riding was worth the price of the trip. The rooms were lovely; large and well appointed. The bar/bartenders were wonderful and very entertaining. The whole experience was wonderful and one of our best stays in Ireland.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your visit to Mount Juliet. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the many activities available on the Estate and thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Ireland.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This place was like something out of a movie! We stayed in the main hose in a beautiful room with a view overlooking green pastures with horses playing by a creek... I'm not joking! Intoxicating beauty everywhere! Oh, and a world class golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus... no big deal. The Restaurant was phenomenal as well. Too bad we only stayed one night on our road trip across Ireland!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read your comments and I am delighted your enjoyed your time here. We hope you have the opportunity to enjoy a longer stay on your next visit to Ireland.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Fabulous property, exemplary staff, amazing facility, lovely rooms, lovely grounds, amazing food, beautiful countryside, loads to do....no words can describe..Its an experience, just so enjoyable. Go!

Room Tip: Try for a river view for exceptional rural views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of Mount Juliet which was a pleasure to read. I hope you will visit us again in the very near future.


Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Got married in Mount Juliet in November 2012, with a Civil Ceremony in the most beautiful room with views of the River followed by a reception in Kendals! The entire day was perfect and everything from the food, venues, accommodation was amazing. The staff were so down to earth and pleasant. They made it such a special day!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fabulous comments following your wedding at Mount Juliet. I am delighted your day was such a memorable occasion for you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to us.


Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I arrived at Mt Juliet late last week and was treated to an unmatched level of service. At 10:30 at night staff happily and helpfully were able to make me a sandwich, sort out my husband's transport for the next day, let me use their phone, and brought me to my room and did so seemlessly. Especially great service from Laura, Liam, and Agnieska- many thanks for helping make my arrival after a long day of work and travel so nice.

I stayed in Kendal's, the Clubhouse, for two nights. The design of the room was very much to my taste and the bed just so, so comfy I could have slept forever.

Breakfast in the morning was taken down at the stunning main house and was just fabulous. I think I gained 10 pounds! Many Americans struggle with the size of rooms in Europe, and the rooms, portions, everything were more than sufficient. In fact, one could say everything was just perfectly gracious.

Impeccable service, stunning setting!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your fantastic comments regarding your visit to Mount Juliet. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the various aspects of your stay and we hope you visit us again on your next trip to Ireland.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We just spent the June long weekend here to celebrate my wife's birthday. The property is stunning. There is so much to do here. You can do as much or as little as you want. We spent an hour at the archery range before our fine dining dinner on the Saturday night then an afternoon fishing the lakes and then onto the river before a more casual dinner at the brasserie in the club house. The thing that sets this place apart from a lot of other similar types of properties in the country is the service. The staff are fantastic. Des is there to great and welcome guests and show them around to the various activities and a young guy Ed in the bar was so friendly while still remaining professional. These guys are not forcing conversation, they are generally interested in meeting people. Also, I mentioned the reason we were staying the weekend when i booked it a month earlier and a birthday message was written into the dessert at dinner. It's these little touches that cost a hotel nothing, but makes a guest remember why they enjoyed their stay so much. Well done Mount Juliet.

Room Tip: Spend a bit extra and get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to read how much you both enjoyed your wife’s birthday celebrations. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff which I will pass on. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Juliet Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Juliet Estate

Address: Thomastown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Thomastown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mount Juliet Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Mount Juliet Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Juliet Estate Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Thomastown
Thomastown Conrad
Mount Juliet Estate Ireland/Thomastown, County Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Juliet Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.