We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Juliet Estate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Juliet Estate to your Saves list
Mount Juliet Estate
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thomastown, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A group of us stayed here recently for a work function and we were all very impressed. I haven't stopped talking about my stay since, it was so good! The room was amazing, the staff were very attentive (although the reception staff could be a little friendlier. I was surprised that they didn't ask how I enjoyed my stay when I was checking out) Everyone from the doorman, the bar staff, the restaurant staff, the people in the equestrian centre helped make the stay an enjoyable one. I did horseriding for the first time and loved the experience at Mount Juliet. The grounds are extensive and this was a lovely way to get a tour of the grounds. The horse trainer was really good and is really sensitive to your ability. Some of the others in our group did the clay pigeon shooting and this also sounded like fun.
The meal was superb. The table setting was ideal for our group size as you could hear what everyone around the table was saying. The meal itself was amazing but I would say that the wine pairing was a little on the generous side with the amount that was poured out. I expected small glasses of wine and couldn't finish any of it! But you got a selection of different wines to match each course which was great and I guess the larger glasses mean it is better value...We had the 8 course gourmet taster meal and the food was well selected and very well cooked. Really enjoyable and must be close to Michelan star standard with its taste and inventive dishes.
As for the rooms, well we stayed in the main house and the room I had was fab. It had everything you would expect from a luxury hotel like this and it was a decent size too. The bed was really comfy as well and the view was looking across rolling countryside.
I really can't wait to go back to Mount Juliet, I have been looking at their website already to see when I can return!! I knew it would be a nice place to stay but didn't realise just how nice it is until I stayed there.

Room Tip: The main house has lovely rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    97
    36
    15
    18
See reviews for
123
316
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This was a wonderful experience from start to finish. Can I just start by praising Mt. Juliet for brilliant organisation - from the moment you register and check in the organisation is superb. The little touches are there with Santas Elf reading out details about our little man when he walked in - a small but classy touch.

Mrs. Claus storytime was great fun, a really well decorated and themed room, lovely warm personalty in Mrs. Claus. The Train ride was fun - I see other people commenting on the lack of lights etc.. along the route - ok fair enough, but it was sold as a train to see Santa at the end of it, if it was sold as a magical train ride maybe I'd take exception, but it did what it said on the tin, the conductor elf was good craic, and it was extremely pleasant. Santa himself was wonderful, beautifully decorated grotto, nice friendly manner with the kids and a nice gift.

All in all well done Mt. Juliet - a wonderful experience, we will be back next year - it was tremendous value for money - you get over an hours entertainment for the admission fee - that is so worth it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I booked the santa train for my 3 year old son, Isaac this year and all of us couldn't wait... the day arrived and i must say, Mount Juliet and it's grounds looked splended.. from the friendly staff welcoming us to the Christmas market's, all in all it created a great festive athmosphere. The santa experience was great, while there was a small delay it didnt diminish the overall experience and in fact it probably made Isaac more excited, isnt that what it's all about! We stayed over-night in the The King of Ossory, a beautiful manor house room, the only down side to our stay was, no room service and if so we couldn't find any menu or get in-touch with anybody to even ask. We are considering our family vacation in MJ next year.

Room Tip: Room 5, The King of Ossory a manor house room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We booked the Santa Train in Mount Juliet this year as we had heard how great it was. We arrived to what I would say was a cattle mart, we got to hear Mrs Claus story and brought to the train, I was thinking that the train was the best part from all the reviews I thought it would have had the grounds lit up a bit better down the back of the golf course was just fields with a few reindeer lit up we were very disappointed. We then were brought into the waiting area for Santa where the previous hour families had still not seen santa, we were then made to lie up and wait for our names to be called. we eventaully after 50 minutes got to see Santa which I was really disappointed with as there was no photo to be taken with him. only for I had my phone with me we would have no memory of Santa 2012. I wouldnt have even minded paying for the photo on the day seen as the train had been booked well in advance. We had been to Tayto World last year which was a lot more enjoyable experience and we will be going back there next year. overall we were very disappointed with the experience of Santa in Mount Juliet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to the Santa Train at Mount Juliet.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced which is very much regretted. I would like to assure you that we have since made changes to certain areas in order to make the whole Santa Train experience more enjoyable for our guests. However, I regret that this was not in place for your visit.

Thank you again for taking the time to relay your experience to us, and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.


Kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby
General Manager,
Mount Juliet Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have just returned back from Mount Juliet where my wife and I stayed for a very short break to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the time we arrived to the time we left, we both had an incredible time. In fact, we both commented that we could not believe how quick the weekend went. There were many highlights from the bottle of wine in our room (to congratulate us on our anniversary) to the food which was simply outstanding.

However, there was one person that represented Mount Juliet brilliantly. Her name was Alex and she was our waitress on Saturday night in Kendal’s.

Alex was Friendly, knowledgeable, professional and very outgoing. In these tough times, we tend to concentrate on the bad things and not spend any time on the good things.

I would appreciate it if you could please pass on our thanks to Alex for making this weekend one of the best we have ever had,

Hopefully, we get to do this again next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Myself, my wife, our 2 friends and 3 kids stayed for a Friday night last week. Everything was as good as a 5 star hotel should be. On arrival the first thing I noticed was a nice welcoming note left by the General Manager, Mr Kirby. Also, the Kids beds were made up with care and attention as is the case with every aspect. Stay here once in your life so you can see what a true 5 star property should be like.

Room Tip: The Rose Garden Lodges..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I go there every year and the afternoon tea is excellent. The service is excellent and they are really friendly. Very accommodating for whatever the children wanted and the main hotel is beautifully decorated and peaceful.

Room Tip: Choose the main house as it has lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Juliet Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Juliet Estate

Address: Thomastown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Thomastown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mount Juliet Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mount Juliet Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Juliet Estate Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Thomastown
Thomastown Conrad
Mount Juliet Estate Ireland/Thomastown, County Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Juliet Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.